Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013





On this page >>   Orica-AIS 2014 squad      Colclough & Teutenberg retire    Other retirements    Vos surgery announced


News Roundup 17th October

Team changes, retirements and a planned surgery for World Champion

Confirmation of teams for 2014, riders announce retirements and Vos to have an operation on her back


Orica-AIS confirms 2014 squad

Ranked number 1 in the world by the UCI (on 22 September), Orica-AIS has confirmed its 2014 squad, which is much like the 2013 group of riders. Additions to the largely Australian group are Italian, Valentina Scandolara (from MCipolinni-Giordana), plus Australians Gracie Sulzberger (from the AIS programme) and Carlee Taylor (from Lotto Belisol). 

Scandolara's racing style was described by team Technical Director, Martin Barras, as "exuberant", he also noted that "she has spent so much time with Spratty in breakaways this year that we thought it simpler to have both on the same team". 

Gracie Sulzberger has been riding at an elite level for several years. She has risen through the AIS (Australian Institiute of Sport) programme and has represented the national team in Europe. Her season ended early in 2013 after she crashed in the Tour of Ardeche and fractured her femur. 

Carlee Taylor is the eldest of the recruits, at just 24 years old. Her elite experience, however, is considerable. She has ridden in Europe as a member of both the Australian National and professional teams including Vienne Futuroscope and most recently, Lotto Belisol. 

Tiffany Cromwell and (first ever Korean professional in the women's peloton), Sungeun Gu are departures from the squad, 'stagaire', Amy Cure, who rode the end of season Giro della Toscana with the team has not joined the squad. 

2014 Squad

Amanda Spratt (AUS)
Annette Edmondson (AUS)
Carlee Taylor (AUS)
Emma Johansson (SWE)
Gracie Elvin (AUS)
Grace Sulzberger (AUS)
Jessie MacLean (AUS)
Loes Gunnewijk (NED)
Melissa Hoskins (AUS)
Shara Gillow (AUS)
Valentina Scandolara (ITA)

Back to Top


Specialized-lululemon confirms retirement by Colclough and Teutenberg

Katie Colclough and Ina-Yoko Teutenberg have both retired, their team, Specialized-lululemon, has confirmed. Colclough rode for the team from 2011 and retires at just 23. Her crowning achievement on the road was to be a part of the 2013 team which won the World Championship team time trial. She was a super-domestique for the team and sometimes unspottable in the peloton due to her very low position on the bike. 

During a 32 year career, Teutenberg won over 200 races. Her retirement was not as she had hoped; she has been forced onto the sidelines for most of the 2013 due to an horrendous crash during her first European race of the season, the Drenste 8 van Dwingeloo. The former German national champion had considered racing on into 2014 so that she could retire whilst racing, but has decided to call it a day. The prolific race and stage winner as a sprinter also has in her considerable 'palmares' the title of World Champion in the team time trial, as a member of the team which took the inaugural title in 2012.

Newly-crowned World time trial Champion, Ellen van Dijk will depart Specialized-lululemon at the end of the year. She has been with the team since 2009. She will ride for Boels Dolmans next year; the Dutchwoman has signed a three year contract with the team.

Back to Top


Other retirements

Other retirements at the end of 2013 include Janneke Busser (Argos-Shimano),  Noemi Cantele (BePink) and Tatiana Guderzo (MCipolinni-Giordana)

Back to Top


Vos to undergo surgery

Reigning Olympic and World road Champion, Marianne Vos has confirmed that she will undergo surgery soon to remove a cyst from her back. The Dutchwoman has publicly mentioned on a couple of occasions during 2013 that she has been suffering from back pain and late last week announced that a cyst has possibly been aggravating a nerve. After competing in cyclo-cross events, including the first World Cup of the season, she will undergo surgery to remove the cyst. She is hopeful that the planned surgical procedure will resolve her issues.  

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top



Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013