Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




18th Giro Della Toscana 2013


WCN quicklink >> Preview    Prologue   Prologue Full   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3    Stage 3 Full   

                             Stage 4     

Previous coverage of Giro Della Toscana  >>   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009    2008    2007    2006



On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos

Stage 3- Vos again

Segromigno – Capannori 124.00km

Race Writeup

Marianne Vos (Rabo Women) secured another stage win. Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) was second ahead of Anna van den Breggen (Sengers Ladies). 

The Giro della Toscana is organised by Brunello Fanini to honour the memory of his daughter, Michella Fanini (winner of the 1991 Giro d'Italia and Italian Champion) who was killed in a car crash in 1991. Today was Michella's day and the race started in  the Fanini family village, Segromigno. 

The race took in four local laps around Segromigno and then two laps up the Valgiana climb. A group of 10 riders manage to get away on the fourth lap and with 10km to go to the foot of the Valgiana climb. The 10 leaders quickly managed to gain a 40 second gap. In the group were; Valentina Carretta (Cipollini Giordana Galassia) Thalita De Jong (Rabo Women- Liv Giant) Rachel Neylan (Hitec), Amy Cure and Jessie MacLean (Orica-AIS), Jade Wilcoxson (Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies), Martina Ruzickova (Pasta Zara Cogeas), Anna Bianca Schnitzmeier (Wiggle Honda), Alexis Ryan (USA National Team) and Marina Lari (Servetto Footon).

At the first intermediate sprint, Wilcoxson, was ahead of MacLean and Schnitzmeier. In the chase behind, the gap to the leading group was diminishing. After one hour 20 minutes of racing, the gap was down to 20 seconds. 

Bt the time the race was heading to the first time up the Valgiana climb, all the major contenders team went to the front and the chase was over. On the climb, the pace was very steady, without any major attacks. Over the top a lead group of approximately 30 formed. The descent was twisty and very technical. The front group started breaking up due to the technical nature of the descent. By the bottom, it had shed seven riders and the transition to the flat saw an attack that separated six riders from the chasing 17 that were left. Marianne Vos (Rabo Women Liv/Giant), Rossella Ratto (Hitec Products UCK), Anna Van der Breggen (Sengers Ladies), Tatiana Antoshina (MCipollini Giordna), Claudia Häusler (Team TIBCO) and Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) made the group. With six major teams represented in both the break and chase group, the impetus of the chase died down immediately, the six were able to gain an advantage. 

Vos controled the pace, before Ratto decided to attack. Vos moved to immediately shut this down. The attacks did not stop ther however. Antoshina immediately tried to attack but wasted a lot of energy not getting anywhere. Häusler, then tried to attack but like Antoshina, she expended valuable energy and struggled to then stay with the lead group. Van der Breggen took over and she attacked three times and three times Vos went for the chase. Johansson followed. 

The final descent of the Valgiana proved crucial, Vos, Johansson  and Ratto descented fast and caused Antoshina, Van der Breggen and Häusler lost contact with 5km to go the three leaders had a 20 second lead. With 1.5km to go, the flatter roads allowed the six to regroup for the final sprint.

The finiah was technical as it had been on stage 2. Vos got the jump early and won the stage ahead of Johansson and Van der Breggen. 

Back to Top

Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos  Rabo Women- Liv Giant 2’46”22
2 Emma Johansonn Orica-AIS "
3 Anna Van Der Breggen Sengers Ladies "
4 Rossella Ratto  Hitec Products UCK "
5 Claudia Hausler  Team Tibco - To The Top "
6 Tatiana Antoshina McCipolinni "
7 Valentina Scandolara  Cipollini Giordana Galassia 3.30
8 Puline Ferrand Prevot  Rabo Women- Liv Giant "
9 Tiffany Cromwell Orica-AIS "
10 Ilaria Cecchini  Faren Kuota "

Back to Top

General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos  Rabo Women- Liv Giant 6’10”10
2 Emma Johansson Orica-AIS 32
3 Anna Van Der Breggen Sengers Ladies 34
4 Rossella Ratto  Hitec Products UCK 35
5 Claudia Hausler  Team Tibco - To The Top 44
6 Tatiana Antoshina  Cipollini Giordana Galassia 45
7 Tiffany Cromwell Orica-AIS 4.02
8 Evelyn Stevens  Specialized Lululemon 4.14
9 Tatiana Guderzo  Cipollini Giordana Galassia "
10 Noemi Cantele  Bepink "

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top




Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013©