Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




26th International Thueringen Rundfahrt der Frauen


WCN quicklink >>   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3    Stage 3 Full   

                             Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5   Stage 5 Full    Stage 6   Stage 6 Full    

                            Stage 7   Stage 7 Full    


Previous Coverage of this event>> 2013   2012     2011     2010     2009    2008    2007    2006    



On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos


Stage 1 -Johansson wins opening stage

Schleusingen, 64.3km

Race Writeup

Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) won the uphill sprint in the opening stage of the 26th running of the Thueringen Rundfahrt. In the sprint to the line, Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolman) was second ahead of a fast finishing Annemiek van Vleuten (Rabo Women). Johansson holds the yellow jersey for stage 6 seconds ahead of van Vleuten and 9 seconds ahead of Armitstead. Rounding our the top four on the same time was Ellen van Dijk (Specialized Lululemon). 

The bunch stayed together for most of the short first stage. 92 starters, representing 16 teams rolled out under warm and sunny skies. The course was a large 41km loop, followed by a 23.3km smaller loop. The typical rolling stage included two sprints and two mountain classifications. Setting a relatively quick pace the peloton arrived at the fist climb after 8.8km, with Christine Majerus (Sengers Ladies) heading the peloton. The pace, had however done some damage to the less experienced and not so inexperienced  riders. A number dropped back on the long drag to the top of the climb. Alena Amialiusik (Be Pink) was second ahead of Jessie Daams (Boels Dolmans). 

A small group of five tried to escape on the decent but they didn't manage to create a break. Valentina Scandolara (McCipollini Giordana) did mange to attack once the five were back in the bunch. She only managed to gain 100m before she was reeled in.

With the peloton all together at the first sprint point, Van Vleuten was first ahead of Johansson and Scandolara. The second of the climbs after 31.3km of racing, saw, former German champion Hanka Kupfernagel (GER) reach the top first ahead of Daams and Amialiusik.

At the end of the first big lap, Linda Villumsen (Wiggle Honda) attacked with Ester Fennel (Koga Ladies). The pair managed to gain a maximum 35 second gap, before Fennel was unable to hold the pace set by Villumsen and dropped back to the peloton. Villumsen continued alone. With 8km to go, Villumsen's gap was coming down as the chase from Orica-AIS, Rabo Women and McCipollini Giordana took control. With 5km to go the gap was down to 20 seconds. At 3km to go, the peloton had Villumsen in their sights. At the 2km to go point, the peloton was in tract. 

The narrow climb to the finish line was quite tight for the bunch. Johansson hit the front with 150 to go and managed to hold on. Ellen van Dijk, looked like she would get third but she was overtaken by van Vleuten just before the line.

Johansson (Orica-AIS) also holds the Sprinter jersey. Christina Majerus (Sengers) hold the Mountain jersey, Linda Villumsen (Wiggle Honda) holds the Most Active jersey, Alena Amialiusik (Be Pink) the U25 [There was not enough riders for the U23 category] and the best Amateur riders is Carolin Shiff (Koga Ladies) 


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap Bonus
1   JOHANSSON, Emma Orica AIS 1.43'28"   15"  
2   ARMITSTEAD, Elisabeth Boels Dolmans Cycling Team " 6"  
3   VAN VLEUTEN, Annemiek Rabo Women Cycling Team " 9"  
4   VAN DIJK, Ellen Specialized "   
5   AMIALIUSIK, Alena BePink 2"     
6   BECKER , Charlotte Wiggle Honda 2"     
7   FAHLIN, Emilia Hitec Products UCK 2"     
8   GUDERZO, Tatiana Mcipollini Giordana 2"     
9   VAN DER BREGGEN, Anna Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 2"     
10   JOHNSEN, Cecilie Gotaas Hitec Products UCK 2"     


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1   JOHANSSON, Emma Orica AIS 1.43'13"  
2   VAN VLEUTEN, Annemiek Rabo Women Cycling Team 6"  
3   ARMITSTEAD, Elisabeth Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 9"  
4   VAN DIJK, Ellen Specialized 15"  
5   AMIALIUSIK, Alena BePink 17"  
6   BECKER , Charlotte Wiggle Honda 17"  
7   FAHLIN, Emilia Hitec Products UCK 17"  
8   GUDERZO, Tatiana Mcipollini Giordana 17"  
9   VAN DER BREGGEN, Anna Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 17"  
10   JOHNSEN, Cecilie Gotaas Hitec Products UCK 17"  


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Video from Stage >>

Back to Top

Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013