Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




24' Giro Femminile - Giro Rosa, 2013


WCN quicklink >>   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3    Stage 3 Full   

                             Stage 4    Stage 4 Full  Stage 5   Stage 5 Full    Stage 6   Stage 6 Full    

                            Stage 7   Stage 7 Full    Stage 8   Stage 8 Full 

Previous coverage of this event  >>     2013    2012    2011   2010   2009   2008    2007    2006    2005   



On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos

Stage 3 -Vos wins solo

Cerro al Volturno (IS) – Cerro al Volturno (IS), 111,00 km

Race Writeup

Marianne Vos (Rabo Women) won stage three of the Giro Rosa. It was a day for the opportunists as the lumpy stage finished with a category two climb into Cerro al Volturno. It was maglia rosa Vos (Rabo Women) who took the stage honours today and further extended her overall lead. Claudia Häusler (Tibco To The Top) was second ahead of Tatiana Guderzo (MCipollini Giordana) Tiffany Cromwell was having a strong ride alongside Vos, until a crash on the descent 8km from the finish took her out of contention.

If anyone still had a doubt, Marianne Vos in the 3rd stage showed everybody for the millionth time she's the strongest rider in the world. The Olympic and World Champion dominated Cerro al Volturno - Cerro al Volturno (104,900 km) winning solo after showing all of her quality on the flat, in descents and on the climbs. In one word: everywhere. Attrition was the theme of the day. After 3rd categry Castel San Vincenzo KOM won by Valentina Scandolara (MCipollini Ale Galassia), at just 9 km from the start, six riders escaped from the group. An early break of six riders slipped away from the peloton shortly after the stage start. Vos and Lucinda Brand (Rabo Woman Cycling Team), white jersey Barbara Guarischi (Vaiano Fondriest), green jersey Valentina Scandolara, Tiffany Cromwell (Orica Ais) and Lauren Hall (USA National Team). The riders in the breakaway, gained a 1'10" maximum advantage, working together to put time into the peloton for the first 60km. Then as the road undulated, the size of the break went from first from six to four and then from four to two. one by one they lost contact and at km 65 at the front were only Vos, who by the way won the intermediate sprint in Colli al Volturno, and Cromwell. Cromwell and Vos found themselves trading pulls together on the front as their early breakaway companions were reabsorbed by a whittled down peloton. In the downhill, 8 km to the finish, it looked as if the stage win would might come down to a hotly contested battle between Cromwell and Vos until a tight switchback got the best of Cromwell on the descent the Australian fell and lost the wheel of Vos, who flew to the finish all alone. Joining the Dutch champion on the podium were Claudia Hausler (Tibco To The Top) and Tatiana Guderzo (MCipollini Giordana), best Italian in the general classification, who both finished 45" after Vos. Fourth finisher was veteran, Fabiana Luperini (Faren Kuota), whilst fifth was the promising Rossella Ratto (Hitec Products Uck), now the best young rider. Tomorrow 4th stage from San Vito to Castelfidardo (137 km), the longest 24th Giro Rosa edition. 


Marianne Vos (Rabo Women) after two second places in a row, needed a stage victory! "I didn't plan to make a long breakaway and I thought the stage was not so tough! The final was very steep and with the cobbles it was even worse, I'm really happy to win in rosa. In the next days I hope to be with the best and increase my advantage in the general classification," explained the maglia rosa, who after the finish, showed to the public her skills at a trackstand. 

Tiffany Cromwell (Orica-AIS) was disappointed with how the race finished, "After the first GPM, we went full gas all the way down the descent. It was so hard and fast that the split just happened. On my behalf, I can say it was so hard that I nearly ended up the in gutter on several occasions," said Cromwell. The break went from to six to four to two riders, Cromwell explained what happened, "Basically, people just came unglued. It wasn't so aggressive. There were no attacks. People started to drop off the group one by one as we started climbing. Somewhere around 40km to go it was just Vos and myself, we had dropped everyone else. We were working pretty well together. I tend to be stronger on the climbs so that's where I set my tempo - it's better for me. I would set the tempo on the climbs and she would take over on the descents. We shared the work on the flats. By working together this way, we were able to open up the gap here and there," added Cromwell. 

Reflecting on the actions that led up to her crash, Cromwell said, "Technically, Vos and I are pretty evenly matched, except on the descents. We were flying down the descents because it's the easiest place to put time on the peloton. I was following her wheel when we hit two tight switchbacks 8km from the finish. I'm not exactly sure what I did, but I slid out and came down. I got up quickly and still had an advantage on the girls behind, but I had lost my momentum." Cromwell walked away from the crash with a little bit of skin loss, but basically she was okay. "Mostly I'm disappointed to have been so close to the finish and not get the chance to go for it. I could have been on the podium or even contested the win. I guess I pushed a little too far, but to hold Vos' wheel for as long as I did is an achievement in itself. Vos is the best bike handler in the bunch," added Cromwell.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
Marianne Vos   Rabo Woman Cycling Team 2:49:44
2 Claudia Häusler   Team Tibco To The Top 0:00:45
3 Tatiana Guderzo   MCipollini Giordana "
4 Fabiana Luperini   Faren-Kuota 0:00:48
5 Rossella Ratto   Hitec Products UCK 0:00:50
6 Ashleigh Moolman   Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:00:55
7 Evelyn Stevens   Specialized-Lululemon "
8 Anna Van Der Breggen   Holland National Team 0:00:58
9 Mara Abbott   USA National Team "
10 Shara Gillow   Orica-AIS 0:01:02


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos   Rabo Woman Cycling Team 8:17:08
2 Claudia Häusler   Team Tibco To The Top 0:01:13
3 Tatiana Guderzo   MCipollini Giordana 0:01:15
4 Fabiana Luperini   Faren-Kuota 0:01:22
5 Rossella Ratto   Hitec Products UCK 0:01:24
6 Ashleigh Moolman   Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:01:29
7 Evelyn Stevens   Specialized-Lululemon "
8 Anna Van Der Breggen   Holland National Team 0:01:32
9 Mara Abbott   USA National Team "
10 Francesca Cauz   Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 0:01:36


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top




Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©  


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013©  

  tr> "1">

Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©