Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




3rd Energiewacht Tour


WCN quicklink >> Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3a    Stage 3a Full   

                             Stage 3b    Stage 3b Full   Stage 4   Stage 4 Full    Stage 5   Stage 5 Full    


Previous coverage of Energiewacht Tour  >>   2013   2012    2011      


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos


Stage 3b - Wild wins again

Appingeham, 77.3km


Race Writeup

Kirsten Wild (Argos Shimano) dominated the final bunch sprint to win another stage in the 2013 Energiewacht Tour. Jolien D'Hoore (Lotto Ladies) was second ahead of Chloe Hosking (Hitec)

After the morning time trial, won by Ellen van Dijk (Specialized Lululemon), the second stage in the afternoon, was a road stage for the sprinters. The stage was held on a flat 13 kilometre circuit that went up and down either sides of a canal. It was fast and the bunch was either riding straight into a headwind or had a strong tailwind. The race was a fast and animated with many attacks in the streets of Appingendam. However the course was made things difficult and did not allowed a break to get up the road in the early stages.. 

In the final 3 laps, ultimately, a group of four non-GC riders managed to create a small group that escaped, starting the last lap with a 15 second gap. It was exciting for a while but finally Team Argos-Shimano and the teams of the other sprinters took control of the chase and caught the break with 5km to go. The team then set up an outstanding lead out for Kirsten Wild (NED) who won the sprint 


Kirsten Wild (Argos Shimano) was very happy with yet another win, "The time trial this morning was really tough and I am always unsure how I'll recover from such an effort, said Wild. "But as soon as I was on the bike, I felt good and the girls did a terrific job keeping me fresh until the final. After the break was caught, the girls kept control and in the final lap they easily closed the gap providing me with an amazing lead out, that gave me such an advantage that I won with an enormous gap. That felt really good, especially after all the strong teamwork.
Tomorrow and again on Sunday we will have the chance to win the final two stages as they are similar races, though I lost too many seconds in the time trial and now I don't think it's possible to win the general classification, so we'll see."


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Kirsten Wild Team Argos Shimano 1:57:52
2 Jolien D'Hoore Lotto Belisol Ladies "
3 Chloe Hosking Hitec Products UCK "
4 Annette Edmondson Orica - AIS "
5 Laura Trott Wiggle Honda "
6 Emily Collins Wiggle Honda "
7 Danielle King Wiggle Honda "
8 Emilie Moberg Hitec Products UCK "
9 Christine Majerus Sengers Ladies Cycling Team "
10 Jessy Druyts National Belgian Team "

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Ellen Van Dijk   Specialized - Lululemon 8:15:33
2 Lisa Brennauer   Specialized - Lululemon 1:07
3 Loes Gunnewijk   Orica - AIS 1:16
4 Kirsten Wild   Team Argos - Shimano 1.32
5 Trixi Worrack   Specialized - Lululemon 1.40
6 Carmen Small   Specialized - Lululemon 1.58
7 Gracie Elvin   Orica - AIS 2.04
8 Adrie Visser   Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 2.44
9 Iris Slappendel   Rabo Women Cycling Team 2.56
10 Elizabeth Armitstead   Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 3.00

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>




Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top



Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013