Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




Ronde van Drenthe 2013


WCN quicklink >>     Drentse 8      Drentse 8 Full     Preview Ronde van Drenthe World Cup   Ronde van Drenthe World Cup     Ronde van Drenthe World Cup Full     

                                  NovilonEDR Cup    NovilonEDR Cup Full   

Previous coverage of Drenthe events  >>  2013    2012    2011   2010    2009    2008    2007    2006    2005 



On this page >>  Write-up      Results      World Cup Ranking    Photos


UCI World Cup, round 1 - Ronde van Drenthe - Vos makes it three in a row

Hoogeveen, 132.8km


Race Writeup

Marianne Vos (Rabobank Liv/Giant) secured her third win in a row ahead of Ellen van Dijk (Specialized Lululemon) and Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS). Vos never looked troubled in the sprint opening up early to win the first World Cup for 2013. Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) took her 5th third place in the 2013 season.

As anticipated the bunch stayed together until the first time up the Col du VAM. A crash, on the decent caused a split and the peloton was in two. The riders tried to regroup as they reached the cobbles for the first time. A lone attack from Anne Sophie Duyck (Lotto Belisol Ladies) managed to gain 10 seconds.
Kelly Markus (Team Argos - Shimano) managed to catch Duyck but the break did not last long. It was all back together on the run back into Hoogeveen after 37km. The first intermediate sprint  was won by Maaike Polspoel (Sengers Ladies), Charlotte Becker (Argos Shimano) was second ahead of Loren Rowney (Specialized Lululemon).

After the second cobbles an attack from Orica-AIS rider Emma Johansson splintered  the bunch . A leading group of 13 riders formed that included former winner, Loes Gunnewijk (Orica-AIS) and team mate, Emma Johansson. Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans). Armitstead attacked and quickly gained a 15 second lead as the first of the cobbles sprints approached, Armitstead was first  ahead of Gunnewijk and Johansson

As the leaders approached the Col du VAM for the second time, Armitstead was holding a 10 second lead back to the group of 12. The gap to the second group was 1 minute.
Orica-AIS chased hard to close the gap to Armitstead. By the time they reached the cobble and second sprint, the leaders were all together. Gunnewijk won the sprint ahead of Kristen Wild (Argos-Shimano) and Shelley Olds (Tibco). A leading group of 30 riders formed. Including Armitstead (Boels Dolman), Adrie Visser  Rommy kasper Martine bras Emma Trott (Boels Dolman), Kasper attacked alone and managed to gain a 35second gap. A number of riders chased the lead group and a lead group of approximately 45 formed.
After 80km all of the favourites were in the leading group. On the cobbled section the breaks started to form again. A leading group of 5 riders formed, Roxane Kneteman (Rabobank), Katie  Colcough (Specialized Lululemon), Gunnewijk,  Armitstead and Kasper. 

Peleton all together after last point sprint in Hoogeveen. With 25km to go the bunch was very twitchy. A number of punctures and . Nervous in peleton, a lot of crashes. The final time at the Col du VAM, Vos attacked. She was chased by four riders, Olds, Ellen van Dijk (Specialized Lululemon), Chloe Hosking (Hitec) and Wild.  Vos was holding a 15 second lead on the four and 25 seconds back to the main peloton. There was a group of 25 chasing them. Van Dijk broke free of the four and chased alone to Vos while the remaining three were caught by the bunch.  

With 10km to go, Vos and van Dijk were leading while Johansson launched a solo chase and was at 13 seconds. The chase bunch was controlled by Rabobank Liv/Giant. With 3km to go and Vos and Van Dijk were holding a 15 second lead ahead of Johansson and 40 seconds on  a chase group then the peloton. 

Vos and van Dijk were in lead, 21 seconds ahead of Johansson. 30 sec Wild, Olds, Marijn De Vries (Lotto Ladies), Armitstead and Tiffany Cromwell (Orica-AIS)

With 1km to go the leaders were working well together but Vos kicked with 500m to go and van dijk could not respond.  Johansson crossed the line 15 seconds later. Chloe Hosking (Hitec) won the bunch sprint.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - 

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 VOS Marianne Rabobank Liv/Giant 03:42.4
2 VAN DIJK Eleonora Specialized Lululemon 1
3 JOHANSSON Emma Orica Ais 15
4 HOSKING Cloe Hitec Products UCK 1.38
5 WILD Kirsten Argos-Shimano "
6 OLDS Shelly Tibco "
7 ARMITSTEAD Elizabeth Boels Dolmans Cycling team "
8 DE VRIES Marijn Lotto Ladies "
9 CROMWELL Tiffany Orica Ais "
10 SMALL Carmen Specialized Lululemon 2.18


Back to Top


World Cup Ranking Top 10 - 

Position Name Team Points
1 VOS Marianne Rabobank Liv/Giant 75
2 VAN DIJK Eleonora Specialized Lululemon 50
3 JOHANSSON Emma Orica Ais 35
4 HOSKING Chloe Hitec Products UCK 30
5 WILD Kirsten Argos-Shimano 27
6 OLDS Shelly Tibco 24
7 ARMITSTEAD Elizabeth Boels Dolmans Cycling team 21
8 DE VRIES Marijn Lotto Ladies 18
9 CROMWELL Tiffany Orica Ais 15
10 SMALL Carmen Specialized Lululemon 11


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

Image 1
Image 1
Image 2
Image 2
Image 3
Image 3


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013