Latest Additions

 Calendar 2013




Santos Cup at Tour Down Under


WCN quicklink >>    Preview    Race 1      Race 1 Full       Race 2     Race 2 Full     Race 3    Race 3 Full   


Previous coverage of the Santos Cup  >>   2013   2012    2011



On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos

Stage 2 -Hogan wins solo

Prospect, 24km


Race Writeup

Joanne Hogan (Jayco Apollo VIS) rode solo to victory on the tight 600m hot dog circuit at Prospect. In the sprint for second, overnight leader, Kimberley Wells (Specialized Securitor) crossed the line ahead of Sarah Roy (Crino Cycles- Casa-Bottega).

Under warm conditions the women lined up for the second race in the Santos Women's Cup. With a few riders not able to start due to other and international commitments, 24 riders started. 

Right from the gun, the attacks started. In an almost repeat of yesterdays race, Specialized Skoda's Lauretta Hanson went on the attack. Team mate Kate Finegan was on her wheel but so too was the watchful Amy Bradley (Specialized Securtior) who was protecting the position of overnight leader Wells. 

The most active team had to be Crino Cycles/Casa-Bottega. They sent attack after attack up the road. Initially Jasmin Hurikino, Emma Mackie, then Sarah Roy and Carla Ryan kept attacking as soon as the other was caught. Even Wells was forced at one point to close down the break almost crashing on one of the tight turns while covering an attack from Ryan. 

It was Ryan who made the most decisive attack but only managed to stay away for two laps before she crashed on the top turn. The bunch passed while Ryan took a lap out to recover. As soon as she was back in the bunch, Ryan tried to go again but this time her legs did not react as well and Amy Cure (Jayco-AIS) closed the gap. 

As soon as Ryan was caught, her team mate Emma Mackie attacked. This time Bradley was on her wheel and countered the attack.

After only 20 minutes of racing the main bunch was down to 11 riders. As the pace slowed to start lap 22, Roy attacked again. Cure followed her with Bradley, Nicole Whitburn and Jenny MacPherson (Liv-Giant), Hogan, Wells and Finegan. Ryan closed the gap with Mackie and Jessica Mundy (SAIS).

Ryan attacked again and she managed to gain a 7 second advantage. Bradley was forced to chase again for her team. It took the power of Cure though to close the gap and the race was all together again. 

With 7 laps remaining, Hogan took advantage of a slowing peloton and attacked. No threat to the overall she was allow to go away while the remaining peloton recovered from their last effort. With 4 laps left, Roy attacked again. Wells was forced to chase herself and close the gap. 

Ryan gave one last attempt to try to close the gap on Hogan, who had nearly half a lap on the bunch. At the bell, Hogan crossed 300m ahead of the Ryan. Bradley again was the one to close down the attack from Ryan. 

Hogan was the clear winner. In the bunch sprint, Wells timed it to perfection to cross the line ahead of Roy to secure a strong lead in the overall standings with one race left. 

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team/Club
1 Joanne Hogan St Kilda/Jayco Apollo VIS
2 Kimberley Wells Canberra CC/Specialized Securitor
3 Sarah Roy St George/Crino Cycles-Casa & Bottega
4 Amy Cure Mersey Valley Devonport CC
5 Nicole Whitburn Carnegie Caulfield CC/Liz-Giant
6 Carla Ryan Lifecycle CC/Crino Cycles-Casa & Bottega
7 Jessica Mundy Norwood CC/Wiggle Honda
8 Kate Finegan Bendigo CC/BCS Specialized Scoda
9 Amy Bradley St Kilda/Specialized Securitor
10 Jenny Macpherson St Kilda CC/Liv-Giant


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team/Club Race 1 Race 2 Total
1 Kimberley Wells Canberra CC/Specialized Securitor 40 35 75
2 Sarah Roy St George/Crino Cycles-Casa & Bottega 16 30 46
3 Amy Cure Mersey Valley Devonport CC 20 25 45
4 Joanne Hogan St Kilda/Jayco Apollo VIS 5 40 45
5 Jessica Mundy Norwood CC/SAIS 25 16 41
6 Jenny Macpherson St Kilda CC/Liv-Giant 30 10 40
7 Nicole Whitburn Carnegie Caulfield CC/Liz-Giant 18 20 38
8 Rochelle  Gilmore Bankstown Sports/Wiggle Honda 35 0 35
9 Kate Finegan Bendigo CC/BCS Specialized Scoda 14 14 28
10 Carla Ryan Lifecycle CC/Crino Cycles-Casa & Bottega 5 18 23


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2013