Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



UCI Road World Cup 2011

World Cup Coverage  >>   2011    2010    2009   2008    2007    2006    2005



WCN quicklink >>  GP Plouay - Round 9    GP Plouay Preview - Round 9     Open de Suede, Vårgåda Round 8 

                                  Open de Suede, Vårgåda Round 7 TTT     Open de Suede Vårgåda Round 7 - Preview

                                 GP Valladolid Round 6     Chongming Round 5     La Fleche Wallonne Round 4   

                         Ronde van Drenthe, Round 3     Ronde van Drenthe, Preview     Ronde van Vlaanderen Round 2    

                                 Trofeo Binda Round 1    Trofeo Binda Race Preview 2011     World Cup Calendar    

UCI Website



On this page >>  World Cup explained   Brief Review 2006-2009   Points Awarded per Race

                             2010 Series Events    Previous Winners   




The World Cup explained

The World Cup is a season-long competition. The winner will be the rider with the greatest number of points achieved via those awarded to their finishing position in the qualifying events. Not everyone who finishes a World Cup gets points, there are only points for the top 20 finishers in any of the 9 events throughout the year. Nine out of the eleven events are road races. The winner gets 75 points, second 50 points, third 35 points and so on, down to the twentieth finisher, who gets one point. In the other event, a team time trial, the points are slightly different, reduced, with only 35 points for the winner, whilst second gets 30 points and third 25 points. The points still run down to one for the twentieth finisher.

The leader of the World Cup each year wears a special jersey. It is white, with blue sleeves and rainbow colour pattern on the chest. 

There are some changes to the events in 2010. Gone is the Montreal round, in its place, the (one day) Tour of Chongming Island takes on World Cup status and there is resurrection of the GP Ciudad de Valladolid in Spain, which was last run in 2007. After reaching the end of its sponsorship term of the professional cycling team, Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung, their showpiece event in their HQ town and recently, the finale to the season, the Rund um de Nurnberger Altstadt also disappears. This means that the season will end in August at the GP de Plouay.

2006-2009 Brief Review

Marianne Vos  - World Cup winner, 2009

Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) had a back-and-forth battle with Emma Johansson (Red Sun Cycling) throughout the 2009 season. The pair exchanged wins and the series rainbow jersey. The absence of 2008 World Cup Champion, Judith Arndt for most of the season through injury meant that the pair basically had the competition to themselves. Vos eventually took victory in the final round. Cervelo Test Team maintained their 100% domination of World Cup TTT wins with their win in Vargarda at the end of July.

Cervelo Test Team - have never been defeated in World Cup TTT

In 2008, Judith Arndt (Team Columbia) won the World Cup series with one round remaining. She could not be beaten after her podium placing at the GP Plouay in August. In the final round in Nurnberg (Germany), she broke away and won the event in a solo break. The German had never worn the World Cup Leader's jersey until her first outing in it in the Montreal round, although she had won several World Cup races in the past. In 2008, Arndt won three World Cup races: Flanders, Montreal and Nurnberg.

In 2007, as leader after the penultimate event, she had an 80 point advantage over second-placed contender, Marianne Vos (DSB Bank). The double points on offer meant that Vos, who contested the sprint in Nurnberg and finished first, took 150 points. Cooke was suffering with a knee injury which required subsequent surgery and coasted in with the bunch in 34th place. The Raleigh-Lifeforce rider had led the 2007 competition since winning the first event in Geelong and was defeated in her defence only in the final event in September. 

In 2006, Nicole Cooke (Univega) had already sewn up the title with one round remaining, despite 150 points being available in the final event.

Back to Top


Points available for road race events

Position 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Points 75 50 35 30 27 24 21 18 15 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Points available for team time trial event

Position 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Points per Team 140 120 100 80 64 60 56 52 48 44 40 36 32 28 24 20 16 12 8 4
Points per rider 35 30 25 20 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

There is also a team classification in the World Cup, won in 2009 by Cervelo Test Team and in 2008 by Team Columbia. The team competition was won in the 2007 and 2006 by Thomas Campana's Raleigh Lifeforce (Univega in 2006) squad. The competition acknowledges the role of teams, even in the individual competition. Thus, teams of 6 riders (on the day) are allowed to enter each event. A minimum of 4 must start the race. It is permissible for team managers to use different combinations of riders within the 6 allowed within each race, changing the team to suit their strengths and the terrain involved on the 'parcours' from the squad of riders listed in the team for the year.

As mentioned above, there is a team time trial in the World Cup for the fourth time (third consecutive) year. This will take place in August and will be organised by the same committee which hosts the "Open de Suède Vårgårda" road race which is included in the series two days later. There has only ever been one winning team of the World Cup TTT event. The winners in 2009 were Cervelo Test Team, known in 2008 as Raleigh Lifeforce.In 2006, the Danish round of the competition was a TTT, dubbed the "Ladies Golden Hour", it was the first time a team time trial had been included and was won by Univega (the team which became known as Raleigh Lifeforce in 2007/8) by just 2 seconds from Buitenpoort-Flexpoint. See top of page click here  for the link to 2006 World Cup coverage. Or click here to see the Golden Hour coverage from 2006

Back to Top


2010 Series Events

Round Date Event Country Results
1 28 March Trofeo Alfredo Binda-Comune di Cittiglio  ITA
2 04 April Ronde van Vlaanderen / Tour des Flandres  BEL
3 10 April Unive Ronde van Drenthe  NED
4 21 April La Flèche Wallonne Féminine  BEL
5 09 May Tour of Chongming Island  CHI
6 06 June GP Ciudad de Valladolid ESP
7 30 July Open de Suède Vargarda TTT  SWE
8 01 August Open de Suède Vargarda  SWE
9 21 August GP de Plouay-Bretagne  FRA

Back to Top


Previous Winners

Year World Cup Champion Runner Up Third
2009 VOS Marianne (NED) JOHANSSON Emma (SWE) WILD Kirsten (NED)
2008 ARNDT Judith (GER) DE GOEDE Suzanne (NED) VOS Marianne (NED)
2007 VOS Marianne (NED) COOKE Nicole (GBR) TEUTENBERG Ina Yoko (GER)
2006 COOKE Nicole (GBR) TEUTENBERG Ina Yoko (GER) BEUTLER Annette (AUT)
2004 WOOD Oenone (AUS) ROSSNER Petra (GER) BRODTKA Angela (GER)
1998 ZILIUTE Diana (LTU) CAPPELLOTTO Alessandra (ITA) DEMET Deirdre (USA)

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2011 ©