Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012






Previous coverage of Giro Della Toscana  >>   2010   2009    2008    2007    2006

Giro Di Toscana 2011



WCN quicklink >>   Preview     Stage 1   Stage 1 Full   Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3     Stage 3 Full     

                                    Stage 4     Stage 4 Full    Stage 4b     Stage 4b Full   Stage 5      Stage 5 Full

                                    Stage 6      Stage 6 Full


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 5 - Worrack wins tough stage 5 solo

Segromigno in piano - Capannori 100,90 Km. 


Race Writeup

Trixi Worrack (Germany) rode home in a solo effort to win the fifth stage to Capannori. Svetlana Boubenkova (Russia) was second ahead of the overall leader Megan Gaurnier (USA). 

At the start of the fifth stage there was only 13 seconds between Gaurnier and Claudia Hausler (Diadora Pasta Zara) and 17 seconds to Rasa Leleivyte (Vaiano Solaristech).

Stage 5 completed 5 laps of 18.60 km course, each lap going over the Valgiano climb. After completing the first lap, the average speed was high at 38.06 mph. At the 2nd gpm at Segromigno, Boubnenkova, led Amanda Miller (HTC Highroad) and Monia Baccaille (SC MCipollini Giambenini), followed by Andrea Dvorak, Hausler and the pink jersey leader. On the descent, a small group managed to get away. It included, Baccaille, Miller, Boubnenkova and  Flavia Oliveira (Vaiano).

The break did not last long, but the damage was done. With 63 km to go the main group was down to a lead group of 70. A number of attacks followed and eventually at 50km to go, a small lead group formed. Worrack created the attack and group quickly gained a lead of 49 seconds. A lone chaser pursued the leaders. Amber Pierce (Diadora Pasta Zara) but she could not make contact with the leaders on her own.

Eight riders joined Pierce, forming a chase group. The leaders were holding a 1 minute 5 second lead to the main peloton and 45 seconds to the case group. 

With 20 km to go, the leaders were caught ad a lead group of 11 formed. During the ascent of Matraia, Worrack attacked and quickly gained a 20 seconds lead by the time she reached the top of Valgiano. 

With 11 km to go, Worrack had 40 seconds ahead of a chase group led by Megan Guarnier. 

With 3 km left, Worrack rode solo to the finish with a group of five chasing. Scandolara, Hausler, Guranier, Boubnenkova and Vysotska. Boubnenkova and Guarnier launched an attack to try to close the gap on Worrack and open up a gap on Hausler. Worrack was too far ahead however and crossed the line, celebrating as she crossed the line in Capannori. A few seconds later, Boubnenkova finished followed by Guarnier.

In the race for the overall lead, Guarnier holds a 36 second lead ahead of Hausler and 1 minute 25 seconds ahead of Leleyvite

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Trixi Worrack   Germany 2:45:39
2 Svetlana Boubnenkova   Russian Federation 0:00:52
3 Megan Guarnier   USA "
4 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:01:11
5 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 0:01:20
6 Eugeniia Vysotska   Ukraine "
7 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 0:01:55
8 Elena Cecchini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo "
9 Grete Treier   S.C. Michela Fanini Rox "
10 Valentina Bastianelli   Vaiano Solaristech "

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Megan Guarnier   USA 11:18:15
2 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:00:36
3 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 0:01:25
4 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:01:34
5 Tatiana Guderzo   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 0:01:51
6 Tatiana Antoshina   Gauss "
7 Polona Batagelj   Slovenia 0:01:59
8 Joanna Van De Winkel   Lotto 0:02:26
9 Flavia Oliveira   Vaiano Solaristech 0:02:38
10 Elena Cecchini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 0:02:39
Points classification
Position Name Team Points
1 Megan Guarnier   USA 33
2 Giorgia Bronzini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 25
3 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 24
4 Trixi Worrack   Germany 20
5 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 19
6 Charlotte Becker   HTC Highroad Women 13
7 Monia Baccaille   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 12
8 Svetlana Boubnenkova   Russian Federation 12
9 Belinda Goss   Australia 11
10 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 9
Sprint classification
Position Name Team Points
1 Megan Guarnier   USA 19
2 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 16
3 Romy Kasper   Kuota Speed Kueens 10
4 Valentina Bastianelli   Vaiano Solaristech 6
5 Karin Aune   S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 5
6 Samantha Galassi   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 5
7 Petra Dijkman   Dolmans Landscaping Team 3
8 Grete Treier   S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 1
9 Elena Berlato   Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 1
10 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 1
11 Trixi Worrack   Germany 1
Mountains classification "
1 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 22
2 Trixi Worrack   Germany 18
3 Svetlana Boubnenkova   Russian Federation 9
4 Romy Kasper   Kuota Speed Kueens 6
5 Andrea Dvorak   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 6
6 Megan Guarnier   USA 5
7 Amanda Miller   HTC Highroad Women 4
8 Petra Dijkman   Dolmans Landscaping Team 4
9 Simona Frapporti   Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 4
10 Charlotte Becker   HTC Highroad Women 2
Young riders classification
Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Polona Batagelj   Slovenia 11:20:14
2 Elena Cecchini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 0:00:40
3 Susanna Zorzi   Gauss 0:04:09
4 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 0:15:55
5 Ivanna Borovichenko   Ukraine 0:16:38
6 Anna Bianca Schnitzmeier   Germany 0:16:39
7 Marta Tagliaferro   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 0:17:50
8 Maryna Ivaniuk   Ukraine 0:18:35
9 Viktoriia Vologdina   Ukraine 0:18:45
10 Sarah-Lena Hofmann   Garmin - Cervelo 0:20:42

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

Sorry, none from this stage yet

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©