Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012






Previous coverage of Giro Della Toscana  >>   2010   2009    2008    2007    2006

Giro Di Toscana 2011



WCN quicklink >>   Preview     Stage 1   Stage 1 Full   Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3     Stage 3 Full     

                                    Stage 4     Stage 4 Full    Stage 4b     Stage 4b Full   Stage 5      Stage 5 Full

                                    Stage 6      Stage 6 Full


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 4 a - Teutenberg wins again. Guarnier goes into overall

Quarrata - Campi Bisenzio 67,30 Km. 

Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Highroad) sprinted to victory at the end of the short 67.3km stage. Monia Baccaille (SC MCipolloini Giambenini) was second just ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (Colavita Forno d'Asolo).

Judith Arndt (HTC Highroad) finished over 1 minute back and  lost the pink jersey in favour of Megan Guarnier (USA).

With only 20km of racing completed the first break tried to go. Two riders managed to get away and they were joined by a third within a few kilomentres. Valentina Bastianelli, Karen Aune and the Elaina Berlato managed to quickly build up a 40 second lead. The peloton were not concerned. The stage was completely flat and bunch was controlled by HTC Highroad. 

After 35km, the peloton had closed the gap and the three fugitives were reabsorbed. After 50 km of the race, Sara Grifi (S.C. Michela Fanini Rox) tried to get away but she was quickly brought back. With 10km to go, the group was compact. With 8km to go Martina Ruzickova (S.C. Michela Fanini Rox) tried to get away. She managed to gain a 10 second lead. With 1km to go however the peloton was back together and HTC Highroad were in control to set up the sprint for Teutenberg. 

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 1:36:05
2 Monia Baccaille   SC MCipollini Giambenini "
3 Giorgia Bronzini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo "
4 Elizabeth Armitstead   Garmin - Cervelo "
5 Marta Bastianelli  SC MCipollini Giambenini "
6 Marta Tagliaferro  SC MCipollini Giambenini "
7 Annalisa Cucinotta   Kleo Ladies Team "
8 Belinda Goss   Australia "
9 Julia Martisova   Gauss "
10 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss "

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Megan Guarnier   USA National Team 8:28:48
2 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:00:07
3 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 0:00:10
4 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:00:13
5 Tatiana Antoshina   Gauss 0:00:34
6 Tatiana Guderzo   SC MCipollini Giambenini "
7 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women 0:00:35
8 Polona Batagelj   Slovenia 0:00:38
9 Joanna Van De Winkel   Lotto Honda Team 0:01:05
10 Amanda Spratt   Australia 0:01:13


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

Sorry, none from this stage yet

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©