Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012






Previous coverage of Giro Della Toscana  >>   2010   2009    2008    2007    2006

Giro Di Toscana 2011



WCN quicklink >>   Preview     Stage 1   Stage 1 Full   Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3     Stage 3 Full     

                                    Stage 4     Stage 4 Full    Stage 4b     Stage 4b Full   Stage 5      Stage 5 Full

                                    Stage 6      Stage 6 Full


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 2  -Teutenberg sprints to victory and overall

Porcari - Orentano - Altopascio 117,10 Km.

Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Highroad secured yet another win for herself and her team. Teutenberg sprinted clear of second place 2010 World road Champion, Giorgia Bronzini (Colavita Forno d'Asolo) and Alona Andruk (Diadora - Pasta Zara) at the end of the 117.1 kms. 

A small break went early on, Katarzyna Sosna (Vaiano-Solaritech) was off the front alone for over 25km but the sprinters and their teams had complete control of the race and closed down the lone leader.

in the end, it was positioning that brought home the win, teutenberg was on the front with 250m to go and no one was able to stop her.

Overnight leader Judith Arndt (HTC Highroad) slipped to fourth overall. HTC Highroad occupy the top six places overall.



Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Highroad) was please to get another win under her belt, "One girl got ahead at the beginning and held a break with a max of two and a half minutes. We pulled her in at about forty kilometers."


"After the break was caught the peloton stayed together pretty much until the end, and we decided to stay out front and make it a hard race,"  said Teutenberg.

"The girls did a great job controlling and setting me up for the finish," Teutenberg continued, "I was out front for the last corner, and after I came out of it I took off with about two hundred meters to go," she added.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 2:55:37
2 Giorgia Bronzini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo "
3 Alona Andruk   Diadora - Pasta Zara "
4 Belinda Goss   Australia "
5 Julia Martisova   Gauss "
6 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech "
7 Marta Tagliaferro   SC MCipollini Gianbenini "
8 Lucy Martin   Garmin - Cervelo "
9 Romy Kasper   Kuota Speed Kueens "
10 Simona Frapporti   Top Girls Fassa Bortolo "


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 3:01:54
2 Chloe Hosking   HTC Highroad Women 0:00:10
3 Charlotte Becker   HTC Highroad Women 0:00:13
4 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women 0:00:21
5 Amanda Miller   HTC Highroad Women "
6 Katie Colclough   HTC Highroad Women "
7 Svetlana Boubnenkova   Russian Federation 0:00:23
8 Julia Martisova   Gauss 0:00:34
9 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss "
10 Irina Molitcheva   Russian Federation "
Points classification "
1 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 15
2 Giorgia Bronzini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 12
3 Alona Andruk   Diadora - Pasta Zara 10
4 Belinda Goss   Australia 8
5 Julia Martisova   Gauss 6
6 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech 5
7 Marta Tagliaferro   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 4
8 Lucy Martin   Garmin - Cervelo 3
9 Katarzyna Sosna   Vaiano Solaristech 3
10 Grete Treier   S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 2
Sprint classification "
Romy Kasper   Kuota Speed Kueens 6
Megan Guarnier   United States of America 6
Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 5
Grete Treier   S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 1
Young riders classification "
1 Katie Colclough   HTC Highroad Women 3:02:15
2 Marta Tagliaferro   SC MCipollini Gianbenini 0:00:13
3 Lucy Martin   Garmin - Cervelo 0:00:16
4 Elena Cecchini   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 0:00:22
5 Susanna Zorzi   Gauss 0:00:24
6 Sarah-Lena Hofmann   Garmin - Cervelo 0:00:27
7 Gloria Presti   Top Girls Fassa Bortolo "
8 Polona Batagelj   Slovenia 0:00:28
9 Giulia Donato   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:00:29
10 Eleonora Patuzzo   Diadora - Pasta Zara "

Back to Top

Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012