Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012






Previous Coverage of this event>> 2011     2010     2009    2008    2007    2006    



24th International Thüringen Rundfahrt, 2011


WCN quicklink >>   Preview     Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1     Stage 1 Full     Stage 2     Stage 2 Full

                                   Stage 3     Stage 3 Full    Stage 4     Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage 5 Full     Stage 6     Stage 6 Full


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 1  - Teutenberg sprints to victory

Gera 119.2km

Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg  (HTC Highroad) sprinted to victory on Stage 1 ,Gera after a perfect lead out from her team. Monia Baccallie ( MCipollini Giambenini) was second ahead of Lizzie Armitstead (Garmin Cervelo). 

The first big stage of the 2011 Thuringen Rundfahrt was 119.2km of rolling hills. It stated under blue skies and as the race unfolded the temperatures picked up. With three sprints along the course and one mountain points opportunity, the attacks started early. After 32km, Esra Tromp (Skil-Koga) attacked. She was joined by Kirsten Wild (AA Drink). Within 3km however the bunch were all together again. 

As the race neared the half way stage, AA Drink's Linda Villumsen attacked on the climb from Bohra. Judith Arndt (HTC Highroad) was quick to cover the move and the bunch were back together. It was not long however before further attacks were attempted. This time, it was Helen Wyman (Horizon) who attacked with 70km left. She quickly managed to gain a 3 minute 20 second lead and valuable sprint points along the way. 

In the end, HTC Highroad managed the break perfectly and caught Wyman just as she crossed the finish line to start the lap of Gera. 

Arndt led Teutenberg round the final corner and she had a clear run to the line to win.

Back to Top

Post Race Comments

Jens Zemke (HTC Highroad) wants to win this tour and today the team started that process for him, "The girls did a fantastic job today," said sport director, Zemke, "We were quite busy in this stage, with a few crashes."

[Hosking] went down and had to swap bikes, and Ina crashed also but luckily had no mechanical issues. There was a break of three minutes with one rider toward the end, and Chloe and Adrie [Visser] spent the last ten kilometers reeling her in. We had four girls controlling the pack while the other two brought the break in, and then they set up the lead out. It was perfectly timed, and Ina came across the line with a ten second time bonus and the yellow jersey."

Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap Bonus
1    TEUTENBERG Ina Yoko TCW 3.09'18"   10"  
2    BACCAILLE Monia MCG 1"   6"  
3    ARMITSTEAD Elizabeth CTW 1"   7"  
4    WILD Kirsten LNL 1"     
5    JOHANSSON Emma HPU 1"     
6    KUPFERNAGEL Hanka HFR 3"     
7    ARNDT Judith TCW 3"   5"  
8    DÜSTER Sarah NLB 3"     
9    BRUINS Regina SKC 3"     
10    KASPER Romy KSK 3"     


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1    TEUTENBERG Ina Yoko TCW 3.13'42"  
2    ARNDT Judith TCW 8"  
3    ARMITSTEAD Elizabeth CTW 11"  
4    MILLER Amanda TCW 18"  
5    NEBEN Amber TCW 19"  
6    BACCAILLE Monia MCG 21"  
7    JOHANSSON Emma HPU 21"  
8    WILD Kirsten LNL 23"  
9    BRUINS Regina SKC 24"  
10    MUSTONEN Sara HPU 24"  


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©