Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012





22nd Giro d'Italia Internazional Femminile 2011



WCN quicklink >> Stage 1     Stage 1 Full    Stage 2     Stage 2 Full   Stage 3     Stage 3 Full

                                 Stage 4     Stage 4 Full     Stage 5     Stage 5 Full   Stage 6     Stage 6 Full

                                 Stage 7     Stage 7 Full     Stage 8     Stage 8 Full   Stage 9    Stage 9 Full 

                                 Stage 10    Stage 10 Full

Previous coverage of this event  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006    2005   


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 7 -Vos solo victory

Rovato - Grosotto 122 km

Race Writeup

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) continued her string of success at the Giro Donne with a solo victory on a stage 7 which tackled the feared Passo Mortirolo ascent. Second to cross the line was Tatiana Guderzo (SC MCipollini Giordana) by 1 minute 13 seconds and third Lucinda Brand (AA Drink) who outsprinted Judith Arndt (HTC Highroad) 8 seconds later.

Vos started the day with a 24-second advantage over Sylwia Kapusta (Gauss) and a 52 second margin over Emma Pooley (Garmin-Cervelo) on general classification, but would greatly extend her overall lead by the end of the 122km stage from Rovato to Grosotto. Vos now leads Pooley by 2 minutes 36 seconds and Tatiana Guderzo (SC MCipollini Giordana) by 4 minutes 51 second.

The stage began on a sombre note with a moment of silence observed on the start line for Australia's Carly Hibberd who was killed the previous day when she was struck by a car while on a training ride north of Milan.

With 16km completed 12 riders managed to escaped to from the early break. The group was comprised of Julia Martisova (Gauss), Martine Bras and Roxane Knetemann (Netherlands), Lucinda Brand and Chantal Blaak (AA Drink), Ina Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Highroad), Francesca Tognali (Kleo Ladies Team), Nicole Cooke (SC MCipollini Giordana), Sara Mustonen (Hitec), Ludivine Henrion (Lotto), Maaike Polspoel (Topsport Vlaanderen 2012-Ridley Team) and Carla Ryan (Garmin-Cervelo).

The break managed to gain a maximum advantage of 6:40 after 74km of racing and the escape soon shattered once they began the Mortirolo ascent.

The climb decimated the field as the top climbers started their assent. A group that comprised of race leader Vos, Guderzo, Pooley, Arndt, 2010 Giro Donne champion Mara Abbott (Diadora-Pasta Zara) and Ruth Corset (Bizkaia-Durango) left the peloton behind.

Just prior to reaching the top of the climb, the Vos group had absorbed the last of the riders who were part of the day's early escape. Cooke and Ryan would remain with the Vos group over the Mortirolo summit as the Dutchwoman crossed the mountains points line first, followed by Pooley, Arndt, Guderzo and Ryan.

While the Mortirolo ascent reduced the peloton to a select few by the summit, it was the 14km descent to the finish in Grosotto where Vos dominated. All of her rivals for the overall could not match her pace on the climb ime Vos reached the finish line with over 1 minute into her closest pursuer and added large chunks of time to her general classification lead.

Back to Top

Post Race Comments

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) continued her dominance of the Giro Donne with an impressive solo ride on stage 7, "The pink jersey provides a special emotion," said Vos. 

"Today it was this jersey which gave me the strength to win. I was not alone on the uphill, as I pedaled I thought of Carly Hibberd, who passed away yesterday. I did not know her, but we have in common the passion for this wonderful sport. Today, the race has seen the best from me and my team. The climb was conducted at a pace not too high which allowed me to stay with the best and to cross the summit in first position. I'm really happy with how things are going in my Giro, but I'm aware that it is not finished yet, " added Vos


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 3:39:00
2 Tatiana Guderzo   SC MCipollini Giordana 0:01:13
3 Lucinda Brand   AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team 0:01:21
4 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women "
5 Emma Pooley   Garmin - Cervelo 0:01:34
6 Carla Ryan   Garmin - Cervelo 0:03:51
7 Tatiana Antoshina   Gauss "
8 Mara Abbott   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:04:29
9 Emma Johansson   Hitec Products - UCK 0:04:43
10 Claudia Häusler   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:05:06

Back to Top

General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 19:42:36
2 Emma Pooley   Garmin - Cervelo 0:02:36
3 Tatiana Guderzo   SC MCipollini Giordana 0:04:51
4 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women 0:04:54
5 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:05:40
6 Tatiana Antoshina   Gauss 0:08:06
7 Shara Gillow   Bizkaia-Durango 0:08:07
8 Emma Johansson   Hitec Products - UCK 0:08:23
9 Ruth Corset   Bizkaia-Durango 0:09:10
10 Mara Abbott   Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:09:42

Back to Top

Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012©