Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012





22nd Giro d'Italia Internazional Femminile 2011



WCN quicklink >> Stage 1     Stage 1 Full    Stage 2     Stage 2 Full   Stage 3     Stage 3 Full

                                 Stage 4     Stage 4 Full     Stage 5     Stage 5 Full   Stage 6     Stage 6 Full

                                 Stage 7     Stage 7 Full     Stage 8     Stage 8 Full   Stage 9    Stage 9 Full 

                                 Stage 10    Stage 10 Full

Previous coverage of this event  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006    2005   


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 3 - Vos wins stage 3

Potenza Picena - Fermo 104.3 km


Race Writeup

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) made up for missing the break on stage 2 with a strong win on the third stage. Emma Pooley (Garmin) was second ahead of Judith Arndt (HTC Highroad)

The third stage was a challenging course filled with constant ups and downs. Departing from

Potenza Picena and completing a loop back to the Piazza del Popolo in Potenza before heading south to complete five cat 3 climbs and one cat 2 climb to Fermo. It was the last but one climb at 91 km Muro del Reputolo that made the difference, splitting the leaders. 

Vos moved away from Pooley on the decent and continued to stay ahead on the final climb, the tough technical decent assent into Fermo. She rode solo into the finish 19 seconds ahead of Pooley and 2 minutes 50 ahead of Arndt. Overnight leader Australian Shara Gillow was off the pace and drops to 4th overall 1 minute 15 seconds behind Vos.

Kapusta Sylwia (Gauss Rdz Ormu Unico 1) held on for second overall, while Pooley jumped into third.

Back to Top

Post Race Comments

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) could not have been happier regaining the Maglia Rosa, "I did not really go for it on the decent but I just managed to gain a gap and I held onto it to the finish," said Vos. 

Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 2:58:04
2 Emma Pooley   Garmin - Cervelo 0:00:19
3 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women 0:02:50
4 Rasa Leleivyte   Vaiano Solaristech "
5 Emma Johansson   Hitec Products - UCK "
6 Ruth Corset   Bizkaia-Durango "
7 Tatiana Guderzo   SC MCipollini Giordana "
8 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:02:59
9 Tatiana Antoshina   Gauss 0:03:12
10 Fabiana Luperini   SC MCipollini Giordana 0:03:24


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name  Team Time/Gap
1 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 7:50:46
2 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:00:08
3 Emma Pooley   Garmin - Cervelo 0:00:36
4 Shara Gillow   Bizkaia-Durango 0:01:15
5 Sharon Laws   Garmin - Cervelo 0:01:19
6 Grace Verbeke   Topsport Vlaanderen 2012 - Ridley Team 0:02:16
7 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau   Gauss 0:02:19
8 Judith Arndt   HTC Highroad Women 0:03:07
9 Linda Melanie Villumsen   AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team 0:03:12
10 Emma Johansson   Hitec Products - UCK 0:03:14


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012