Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012





22nd Giro d'Italia Internazional Femminile 2011



WCN quicklink >> Stage 1     Stage 1 Full    Stage 2     Stage 2 Full   Stage 3     Stage 3 Full

                                 Stage 4     Stage 4 Full     Stage 5     Stage 5 Full   Stage 6     Stage 6 Full

                                 Stage 7     Stage 7 Full     Stage 8     Stage 8 Full   Stage 9    Stage 9 Full 

                                 Stage 10    Stage 10 Full

Previous coverage of this event  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006    2005   


On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification    Photos



Stage 2 - Australian Shara Gillow wins stage 2

Pescocostanzo - Pescocostanzo 91 km

Race Writeup

Australian Shara Gillow (Bizkaia-Durango) powered up the final short climb of the day to win her first major professional race. The 2011 Australian Time Trial champion, who is riding for Bizkaia-Durango in this years tour, was part of the 14 women break. Sharon Laws (Garmin) finished second just behind Gillow. Gauss who had three team members represented in the break managed to get third with Sylwia Kapusta. 

After the first gpm a group of 14 riders managed to escape the peloton. They initially gained a 45 seconds lead ahead of the chasing bunch which contained Marianna Vos, the Maglia Rosa. The group included mountains classification leader Valentina Scandolara, French champion Christel Ferrier Bruneau and Sylwia Kapusta (Gauss), Iris Slappendel and Sharon Laws (Garmin), Linda Villumsen and Chantal Blaak (AA Drink-Leontien.nl), Grace Verbeke (Topsport Vlaanderen), Ina Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Highroad), Patricia Schwager (Nederland Bloeit), Andrea Dvorak (Forno d'Asolo Colavita), Shara Gillow (Bizkaia Durango), Elisa Longo Borghini (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo) and Rachel Nylan (Diadora Pasta Zara).

Valentina Scandolara (Gauss) secured valuable points over the only Mountain prime points of the day to add to her Mountain leaders. With 70km completed, the lead group was led by Grace Verbeke (Topsport Vlaanderen 2012 - Ridley Team) who had attacked the bunch taking with her eight riders. They managed to get a lead of 1 minute 15 seconds ahead of the five riders who had lost touch of the first group. The main peloton chase group containing Vos were at 2 minutes 15 seconds. The five riders were eventually drawn back into the main group.

Kapusta (Gauss) attacked the group on the decent, only Laws and Gillow were able to go with her. the three rides worked well together into the final 5km. In the final 300m, the 2011 Australian champion attached and crossed the line taking the stage and the overall leaders jersey. 

ack to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 Shara Gillow   Bizkaia-Durango 2:37:48
2 Sharon Laws   Garmin - Cervelo "
3 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:00:10
4 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau   Gauss 0:00:46
5 Grace Verbeke   Topsport Vlaanderen 2012 - Ridley Team 0:00:48
6 Andrea Dvorak   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 0:00:57
7 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 0:01:06
8 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 0:01:09
9 Linda Melanie Villumsen   AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team 0:01:32
10 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 0:03:18

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name  Team Time/gap
1 Shara Gillow   Bizkaia-Durango 4:49:35
2 Sharon Laws   Garmin - Cervelo 0:00:04
3 Sylwia Kapusta   Gauss 0:00:16
4 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau   Gauss 0:00:56
5 Grace Verbeke   Topsport Vlaanderen 2012 - Ridley Team 0:00:58
6 Ina Teutenberg   HTC Highroad Women 0:01:10
7 Andrea Dvorak   Colavita Forno d'Asolo 0:01:30
8 Linda Melanie Villumsen   AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team 0:01:42
9 Valentina Scandolara   Gauss 0:01:50
10 Marianne Vos   Nederland Bloeit 0:03:17


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012  

l">Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2011   [FrontPage Include Component]