Latest Additions

 Calendar 2011

Calendar 2012





Previous coverage of Durango-Durango  >>   2011    2010   


On this page >>  Write-up   Comments   Results   Photos


Durango - Durango  Emakumeen Saria

Vos goes back to back with Spanish wins 

Durango, Spain, UCI 1.2 110 km



Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) repeated her 2010 win in Durango and followed up her World Cup win at the weekend with an emphatic sprint victory over Emma Johansson (Hitec Products) and Judith Arndt (HTC-HighRoad). 

Although the race began in chilly drizzle, the skies cleared and the roads dried during the afternoon. An early attack gave a small group a twenty-five seconds advantage over the bunch, but was caught on the run back from Elorrio to Durango and the beginning of the third lap. 

Linda Villumsen (AA Drink), Charlotte Becker (HTC-HighRoad) and Lisa Brennaur (Hitech Products) escaped on the way back to the climb. They were ten seconds ahead a kilometre from the summit. Lizzie Armitstead (Garmin Cervelo) bridged across on the road to Elorrio. This group stayed away throughout the next lap and out to the final climb of the day.

A small selection group broke away - Vos, Johansson, Arndt and Emma Pooley (Garmin Cevelo). This four contested the sprint finish in Durango. The acceleration was early and Vos took the lead 250 metres from the line. Arndt and Pooley were clearly beaten, so too in the end, Johansson. She was the last to submit to the speed and power of the Dutchwoman. Marianne Vos had plenty of time to sit up and enjoy her second Spanish victory in three days and a repeat of her 2010 victory in this race.

Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Sorry, none from this event.  

Back to Top



To follow

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is  NewsResults [at] Womenscycling.net

To contact the webmaster, the address is : Webmaster [at] Womenscycling.net

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.  Replace  [at]  with  @

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2012