Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



WCN quicklink >>   MTN readies for 2010



On this page >>   Ljungskog and Schmidt added to roster


Team Media Release

MTN boulsters rider list 2010 

Scandanavians join South African team

Ljungskog and Schmidt added to roster

The MTN Energade cycling team has announced its UCI Continental Women’s Team for the 2010 racing season which includes four-time Swedish Olympian and two-time World Champion Susanne Ljungskog and the young Danish time trial talent Trine Schmidt.  

We are very excited about the prospects that our women’s team will have for local and international races in the 2010 season. Strengthening the team with four quality signings reflects the commitment of the team to increase the awareness of Africa in the cycling world and showcasing some of the best talent we have on the continent,” said Bernard Pieters, senior sponsorship manager at MTN South Africa.

"We have a clear development pathway for our athletes that include world-class scientific training, international mentorship, and competition. The signing of Susanne and Trine to our team is the most exciting news in the history of women's cycling in Africa. We look forward to taking our SA talent to the next level in 2010 Commonwealth Games, World Championships, and on to London 2012." commented Dr Carol Austin of Activeworx, the coach to Team MTN.

Our goals for South African women’s cycling in 2010 are to have a podium at the Commonwealth Games and a top 20 at the World Championships. For Team MTN we would like to rank amongst the top 10 teams in the world and maintain our status as the number one women’s team in South Africa. Our two new local signings in Robyn and An-Li (both from Nashua) offer some diversity to the squad. By increasing the size of our UCI Continental team for next year, we want to show our commitment not only to the development of the sport but also to compete strongly against some of the best international teams,” said Douglas Ryder, owner of the MTN Energade Team.

Back to Top


Team 2010

Marissa van der Merwe, RSA,32

Carla Swart, RSA, 22

Chrissie Viljoen, RSA,32

Cashandra Slingerland, RSA, 35*

Mariske Strauss, RSA,19

Robyn de Groot, RSA, 27

An-li Pretorius, RSA, 22

Lylanie Lauwrens, RSA, 26

Susanne Ljunkskog, SWE, 34

Trine Schmidt, DEN, 21

* Slingerland does not form part of the UCI Continental team but is part of the squad

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2010©