Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



Previous coverage of this event  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006    2005   

Giro Donne, 2010


WCN quicklink >>   Preview    Stage 1     Stage 1 Full     Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3     Stage 3 Full     

                                    Stage 4     Stage 4 Full     Stage 5      Stage 5 Full     Stage 6     Stage 6 Full

                                    Stage 7     Stage 7 Full     Stage 8    Stage 8 Full     Stage 9     Stage 9 Full

                                    Stage 10     Stage 10 Full


On this page >>  Preview    Stages    Photos  




July 3 - 12 2010



The Giro Donne was launched on Saturday 27th February with the unveiling of the stages and reaction from previous champion, Edita Puckinskaite. The event took place at the Diadora Museum of Sport. Diadora are to be a long running sponsor to this race.

Maurizio Sacconi, Director General of Diadora, along with the President of the Italian Cycling Federation, Renato Di Rocco and President (and long-time Director) of the Giro Donne, Giuseppe Rivolta and other dignitaries presented the twenty-first edition of the race. The Giro Donne is highly regarded by cycling authorities, the Italian public and competitors. Running during the first two weeks of the Tour de France, the event benefits from extensive TV coverage when the broadcasters in Italy switch from their live coverage of the Tour stage to show highlights from the Giro Donne stage of that day.

The 21st edition will be a 921 kilometre test, based mainly in the northern Italy, with a sojourn into Switzerland in the closing stages. The event is considered a test for the climbers and the highlight will be the mountaintop finish at Stelvio on the penultimate, eighth stage. The race returns to familiar ground, the mecca of cycling; the Ghisallo on stage seven, which is where Puckinskaite secured her 2006 overall victory (when it was the final stage). This time, though, instead of finishing there, the race descends to the finish in Albese con Cassano.  

Back to Top



Stage 1 Muggia-Trieste 2 July 2010

Stage 2 Sacile-Riese Pio X 3 July 2010

Stage 3 Caerano S. Marco-Biadene Di Montebelluna 4 July 2010

Stage 4 Ficarolo-Lendinara 5 July 2010

Stage 5 Orta San Giulio-Pettenasco 6 July 2010

Stage 6 Gallarate-Arcisate 7 July 2010

Stage 7 Como-Albese 8 July 2010

Stage 8 Chiavenna-Livigno 9 July 2010

Stage 9 Livigno-Stelvio 10 July 2010  

Stage 10 Autodromo di Monza-Monza 11 July 2010

Back to Top


Photos - Click on any image to enlarge

Back to Top

Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2010