Latest Additions

 Calendar 2010


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)




TD Bank Philadelphia International Cycling Championships 2010


WCN quicklink >>    2010 Liberty classic

Race Website


On this page >>   Report   Results   Comments  Photos



16th Liberty Classic 2010

Teutenberg wins again in the 16th Liberty Classic

57.6 mile (87km), Philadelphia , PA

Write Up

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Columbia) dominated the final sprint to win her fourth title and makes it 22 wins this season.

Teutenberg was almost caught out by Shelly Evans (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12) in the final 300m but used her considerable power and experience to reel Evans in 20m before the line. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team) held on for third. 

With four steep climbs up the gruelling Manayunk Wall, Teutenberg's teammates controlled a full day of attacks by the other teams who wished to prevent the race ending in a sprint, to lead their sprinter to her fourth victory in this race. On the final assent of the Manayunk Wall a group of 22 riders managed to get away that included three HTC Columbia riders. Tibco had four riders including Brooke Miller and Australia's National Road Race champion, Ruth Corset (Team Tibco) who showed class on the climbs, dominating the points competition over the 8 climbs, 4 over the Manayunk Wall and 4 over Lemon St. 

Incredibly, Jennie Longo (Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo) showed at 52, that she's still got what it takes to compete with the younger women. Longo was second overall in the Mountain points and made it into the breakaway group to finish 15th overall.

Back to Top

Post Race Comments

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC Columbia) could not have been happier to secure her 4th win at the Liberty Classic. "It was really hot today but other than that it was very similar to last year really," said Teutenberg. "There were a lot of attacks but my teammates did a great job to control the race and keep it together for a sprint.

"Evie [Stevens] was always there on the Manyunk Wall to cover the attacks and Kim [Anderson], Linda [Villumsen] and Emilia [Fahlin] did a great job covering everything else. People attacked constantly and on the last lap I was expecting them to really hammer up the climb but I think by that stage they were all a bit tired because of the heat. I started to feel sorry for the guys having to race for another four hours or so.

Coming into the last lap Erinne Willock from Webcor was still ahead of the field and HTC-Columbia steadily reeled her in and were ready to cover attacks on the way back to town. Finally they set Teutenberg up for the sprint with a great lead out around the final roundabout.

"In the end I only just won the sprint as Shelly [Evans] made a very well timed attack on the finishing straight and it took me until 15 meters to go to catch her.

"I'm really happy to win here again. It's one of my favourite races and I look forward to coming her every year."



Position Name Team Time/Gap
1 TEUTENBERG Ina HTC-Columbia 2:31:39
2 EVANS Shelly Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 "
3 CLIFF-RYAN Theresa Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team "
4 MILLER Brooke TIBCO - To The Top "
5 WORRACK Trixi Noris Cycling Team "
6 NUMAINVILLE Joelle Webcor Builders "
7 CORSET Ruth TIBCO - To The Top "
8 SWART Carla Team Vera Bradley Foundation "
9 KIESANOWSKI Joanne TIBCO - To The Top "
10 MCLOON Anna Team Kenda "
11 TAMAYO Lauren Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 "
12 MILLER Meredith TIBCO - To The Top "
13 RAMSDEN Denise Team Kenda "
14 CHEATLEY Catherine Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team "
15 LONGO Jeannie Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo "
16 POWERS Alison Team Vera Bradley Foundation "
17 ABBOTT Mara Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 "
18 NEBEN Amber Webcor Builders "
19 SAMPLONIUS Anne Team Vera Bradley Foundation "
20 ANDERSON Kimberly HTC-Columbia "
21 STEVENS Evelyn HTC-Columbia "
22 BROUN Kirsty Verducci Breakaway Racing "
23 HENNIG Angela Noris Cycling Team 0:01:25
24 CARON Joanie Team Nanoblur-Gears 0:01:25
25 MILLER Sinead** Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 0:01:25
26 J÷HREND Marlen Noris Cycling Team 0:01:25
27 VERONNEAU Kate HumanZoom p/b PBR 0:01:25
28 BARENSFELD Anna Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus 0:01:25
29 MACKIE Emma TIBCO - To The Top 0:01:25
30 BILODEAU Veronique Equipe Cascades - ABC Cycles 0:01:25
31 PEREZ Ainhoa Performance Bicycle Racing 0:01:25
32 CARLE Alex Verducci Breakaway Racing 0:01:25
33 DILLON Oliva Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 0:01:25
34 ZIDER Mary Specialized Mazda Samson Conseil 0:01:25
35 ROY …MILIE Equipe du Quebec 0:01:25
36 GAUDREAULT Myriam Equipe du Quebec 0:01:25
37 LABONTE Veronique Team Nanoblur-Gears 0:01:25
38 SANBORN Melissa MVP Healthcare Cycling 0:01:25
39 RYAN Bronwyn Verducci Breakaway Racing 0:01:25
40 BILLINGTON Kathleen BMW Bianchi 0:01:25
41 FARINA Robin Team Vera Bradley Foundation 0:01:25
42 VZESNIAUSKAITE Modesta Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team 0:01:25
43 GRAUS Andrea Webcor Builders 0:01:25
44 ANNIS Sally NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental 0:01:25
45 HOLCOMB Janel Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus 0:01:25
46 WILLOCK Erinne Webcor Builders 0:01:25
47 MATTIS Katheryn Webcor Builders 0:01:25
48 DONOVAN Kathryn Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus 0:01:25
49 VILLUMSEN Linda HTC-Columbia 0:01:25
50 SANDIG Madeleine Noris Cycling Team 0:01:25
51 CARTMILL Carrie Team Nanoblur-Gears 0:02:01
52 MANDERFIELD Kacey HumanZoom p/b PBR 0:02:11
53 DEARDEN Amy Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo 0:02:11
54 WHITSON Genevieve MVP Healthcare Cycling 0:02:11
55 DESPAS Jane MVP Healthcare Cycling 0:02:11
56 BUERKLE Patricia Fruit 66/Artemis 0:02:11
57 MCGLURE Angela Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo 0:02:11
58 MEYERS Melanie Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo 0:02:11
59 ROSS Melissa Team Kenda 0:02:11
60 JEFFS Krystal Team Nanoblur-Gears 0:02:11
61 BENJAMIN Kelly Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team 0:02:16
62 CARROLL Katharine Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 0:02:33
63 ANDERSON Elle** NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental 0:03:04
64 RASMUSSON Jen Team Kenda 0:03:04
65 BELLEROSE Julie Equipe Cascades - ABC Cycles 0:03:11
66 WELLONS Rebecca BMW Bianchi 0:03:11
67 CYR JOHANNE Equipe du Quebec 0:03:11
68 LEMIEUX AUDREY Equipe du Quebec 0:03:22
69 FAHLIN Emilia HTC-Columbia 0:03:22
70 BUCHANAN Rushlee Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team 0:03:22
71 MUCH Rebecca TIBCO - To The Top 0:07:22
72 SILLIMAN Erin Fruit 66/Artemis 0:07:31
73 LUEBBE Andrea HumanZoom p/b PBR 0:07:31
74 CHURCH Kristine HumanZoom p/b PBR 0:07:31
75 IEPSON Sarah CAWES Cycling 0:07:31
76 COSTELLOE Mary Verducci Breakaway Racing 0:07:31
77 KEMMERER Arley CAWES Cycling 0:07:31
78 STOLL Natalie MVP Healthcare Cycling 0:07:31
79 KULIECZA Julie Fruit 66/Artemis 0:07:31
80 PARENT Thea HumanZoom p/b PBR 0:07:31


Back to Top


Click on any image to enlarge >>


Back to Top

Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2010©