Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



New Zealand - NZCT Women’s Tour of New Zealand 2010


WCN quicklink >>          Preview1     Preview 2    Stage 1     Stage 1 Full    Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3     Stage 3 Full

                                          Stage 4     Stage 4 Full     Stage 5     Stage 5 Full    Stage 6    Stage 6 Full

Previous coverage of the Tour of New Zealand in Wellington  >>  2010   2009    2008    2007    2006    2005  

On this page >>    Latest news     Start List 



Latest News and Official Start List for 2010 Tour

Wellington area, North Island, New Zealand, February 24 - 28

Latest news

The NZCT Women’s Cycle Tour of New Zealand starts on Wednesday 24th February at 2.30pm with a stage from Martinborough to Masterton and finish on Sunday 28th February with a Wellington Criterium in Lambton Quay.

Stage 1 takes riders over Te Wharau hill in the Wairarapa.  In stages two and five riders take on two of the most difficult and hilly stages in the tour, a 125 km stage from Palmerston North to Masterton via the demanding 12km Pahiatua Track climb on Thursday 25, returning on Saturday 27.  

This is the biggest international women’s cycling event in New Zealand.  The field is made up 100 riders from several countries, plus the best of New Zealand.   

National teams from Australia, Japan, China, USA and New Zealand as well as professional riders from South Africa, Netherlands, Sweden and Luxemburg are taking part in the race.

In the US team is former world champion Amber Neben, the World time trial Champion in Varese, Italy in 2008, is leading a powerful United States national team.  

In 2003 Neben was the US road race champion, and has twice won the Tour de l'Aude (in 2005 and 2006). Andrea Dvorak, a qualified lawyer, has won stage races in the US, and has also competed in the Giro de Italia. She is expected to be prominent in the hills, which will be vital to her success in the NZCT tour. Team-mate Jessica Phillips won the US road race in 2002, and became the time trial champion last year, and the three others in the team, Janel Holcombe, Shelley Evans and Alison Starnes, are all well performed. 

This squad looks likely to push the NZCT New Zealand team, Rochelle Gilmore's Lotto line-up, and the best of the Australian teams, but tour director, Jorge Sandoval, is also delighted to have teams from China, Japan, including the national squad. "The Chinese and Japan teams all have Olympic representatives looking to make an impression here," Sandoval said. "With the number and standard of the overseas riders it ensures the NZCT tour continues to grow in terms of its international profile. All the hard work we have done in the last few years to make people aware of the tour, and the standard of racing, is paying off."

Favourites for the race are:

Rochelle Gilmore - Australia        

Amber Neben – USA Ex World Champion

Andrea Dvorak – USA

Ruth Corset – Current road cycling Champion, Australia

Amber Halliday – 2009 Tour winner – Current Australian TT champion.

Rushlee Buchanan – New Zealand road champion  

Back to Top

Start List

NZCT New Zealand National Team  Lotto Ladies Team
55 Rochelle Gilmore Australia
56 Nimesha Smith  New Zealand
1 Joanne Kiesanowski     New Zealand 57 Ashleigh Moolman South Africa
2 Kaytee Boyd             New Zealand            58 Josephine Tomic Australia
3 Rushlee Buchanan       New Zealand           59 Vicki Whitelaw Australia
4 Courteney Lowe   New Zealand        
5 Linda Villumsen New Zealand  
6 Catherine Cheatley  New Zealand  R.A.C.E. Team - Australia
61 Kendelle Hodges Australia
62 Liza Rachetto Australia
Giant Pro Cycling Team – China 63 Rebecca Domange Australia
7 Lang Meng China 64 Emma Lawson Australia
8 Ming Gao China 65 Chole McConville Australia
9 Liu Xin China 66 Felicity Wilson Australia
10 Gu Hui Li China
11 Ling Luo Xiao China
12 Wong Wan Yiu China Cyclosport Team
67 Serena Sheridan New Zealand
68 Emma Crum        New Zealand
Ready Go Japan 69 Tracy Best            New Zealand
13 Hory Yukiyo Japan 70 Jessica Jolly          New Zealand
14 Takeda Waka Japan 71 Emily Collins New Zealand
15 Sato Sakico Japan 72 Jeanne Kuhajek New Zealand
16 Yoneda Whitson Japan
Japan National Team Litespeed Team
19 Mayuko Hagiwara Japan 73 Karen Fulton New Zealand
20 Ayako Toyooka Japan 74 Lana King New Zealand
21 Nishi Kanako Japan 75 Emma Peterson New Zealand
22 Morita Masami Japan 76 Toni Bradshaw New Zealand
23 Katayama Rie Japan 77 Josie Giddens New Zealand
24 Uwano Minami Japan 78 Yvette Hill-Willis New Zealand
Australia NTID Team
25 Alexandre Carle Australia Mercedes Benz Team
26 Sarah Roy Australia 79 Laura Medley Australia
27 Bronwyn Ryan Australia 80 Nikolina Orlic Australia
28 Laura Luxford Australia 81 Anna Kauffmann    Australia
29 Rebecca Halliday Australia 82 Janine Copp New Zealand
30 Elizabeth Jacobs Australia
Handy Rentals Team
85 Naila Hassan New Zealand
AIS Australia National Women’s Cycling 86 Rachel Mercer New Zealand
31 Kirsty Broun Australia 87 Gayle Brownlee New Zealand
32 Shara Gillow Australia 88 Sia Svendsen New Zealand
33 Lauren Kitchen Australia
34 Amanda Spratt Australia Penny Cycling Team
35 Carly Light Australia 91 Tracy Clarck New Zealand 
36 Tiffany Cromwell Australia 92 Chubby Hale New Zealand
93 Melanie Burke New Zealand
94 Anna Stevenson New Zealand
Hitec Products UCK 
37 Sara Mustonen Sweden BP Team
38 Tone Hatteland  Norway 97 Kate Chilcott New Zealand
39 Nathalie Lamborelle Luxemburg 98 Eyelien Bekkering Netherlands
40 Kristine Saastad Norway 99 Kerry-Anne Torckler New Zealand
  100 Genevieve Whitson New Zealand
USA National Team 
43 Andrea Dvorak USA Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team
44 Amber Neben USA 103 Amber Halliday  Australia
45 Janel Holcomb USA 104 Ruth Corset  Australia
46 Jessica Phillips USA 105 Jessie Maclean  Australia
47 Shelley Evens USA 106 Cherise Taylor  SA
48 Alison Starnes USA 107 Charlotte Van de Merve  SA
108 Davina Summers  Australia
Prime Estate Team - Australia
49 Nicole Whitburn Australia
50 Rebecca Locke Australia
51 Carma Watson Australia
52 Irene Digenis Australia

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2010 ©