Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



WCN quicklink >>    Team 2009 presented    Team Flexpoint 2009 confirmed     

                               Merger with Vrienden van het Platteland called off       Team Flexpoint to merge with Vrienden van het Platteland   




Team Flexpoint to merge with Dutch rival

Flexpoint and Vrienden van het Platteland to become one

Team Flexpoint have announced that they will merge with Vrienden van het Platteland. The move involving the two Dutch-registered UCI teams will make them a formidable force in Dutch cycling for 2009. Their intention is to continue all the way through to 2012, the next Olympic year.

Named already in the team are Mirjam Melchers van Poppel, Loes Gunnewijk, Loes Markerink and Liesbet de Vocht, all currently members of Flexpoint. Negotiations for the other places in the team are ongoing, although current Flexpoint rider, Susanne Ljungskog and Platteland riders Ellen van Dijk, Nikki Egyed, Lorian Graham and Martine Braas are not thought to be linked with the new arrangement. 

Team manager, Jean-Paul van Poppel, who has been at the helm of the women's team since its inception, will move over to management of men's racing in 2009. He will maintain an interest in the new team, acting as technical manager.

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top

Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009