Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)





Women’s Prestige Cycling Series 2009

Alison Powers team Type 1, won the overall and Webcor Builders won the team competition at the Women’s Prestige Cycling Series that resumed this week at the Joe Martin Stage Race


The 2009 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series resumed this week at the Joe Martin Stage Race, a new addition to the Series.  At the opener in Redlands, Team Type 1 and Team TIBCO traded blows, each claiming the lead in two of the four competitions.  Expect Webcor Builders, a consistent WPCS powerhouse, to put in a strong challenge as well.

The individual competition is still up for grabs since all of the top five women in the standings will be on the startling line.  Alison Powers, with the aid of her Team Type 1 team mates, rode strongly to protect her narrow lead. She was chased by former US National champion Katherine Mattis (Webcor Builders), Lauren Tamayo (Team TIBCO), Kristin Sanders (ValueAct Capital) and Meridith Miller (Team TIBCO), in second through fifth, respectively. 

The opening time trial was won by Powers, with Mattis and Erinne Willock (Webcor) a little way off the pace of Powers. 

The second stage road race was won in a sprint to the line by New Zealander Joanne Kiesanowski (Team Tibco). Kiesanowski beat Laura van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) and TIBCO team mate Cath Carroll to the line. Webcor sprinter Gina Grain had to settle for 4th. Powers finished in the same bunch to protect her overall position.

The third stage, another road race, saw a mass bunch sprint of 40 riders, with van Gilder getting the better of Carroll and Grain. Again Powers finished safely in the bunch to stay on top of GC.

The final stage a fast paced criterium cemented Powers in the overall position. She finished in style, breaking away in the final lap to finish 10 seconds ahead of team mate Jennifer McRae and Jazz Apples Ruth Corset.

The 2009 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series began at the Redlands Bicycle Classic.  Following the Joe Martin Stage race, it will continue at the Nature Valley Grand Prix (June 10 – 14) before concluding at the Cascade Classic (July 22 – 26).

About the Women’s Prestige Cycling Series

The Women’s Prestige Cycling Series began in 2004 with the goal of highlighting women’s racing by giving them a spotlight that they don’t have to share with the men.  Organized by the Nature Valley Grand Prix, the Series grew out of meetings that began in Minnesota in 2003 at the first Women’s Cycling Summit Conference hosted by that event.  

Full Results to Come


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.




Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009©