Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



Road World Cup 2009


World Cup Coverage  >>   2009   2008    2007    2006    2005

WCN quicklink >>   La Flèche Wallonne Féminine Preview  Round 3 - Ronde van Drenthe  Round 2- Ronde van Vlaanderen    Round 1- Trofeo Binda   

World Cup Preview    


UCI Website

On this page >>  2009 La Fleche Wallone  Preview    2008  Fleche  review    Previous Winners   



Preview - La Flèche Wallonne Féminine

2009 Preview

The fourth stage of the 2009 World Cup series is set to be a tough finale. After successive podium finishes, Emma Johansson (Red Sun Cycling) sits with 160 points ahead of Marianne Vos (DSB) with 117 points. In third place after a string of victories over the early season, is Ina Yoko Teutenberg (Team Columbia Highroad Women). 

Run in conjunction with the mens event, the women cover one less lap than the men. The climb up the Mur de Huy will test the best riders in the world and past winners are expected to feature in the 2009 finish. Vos will be looking to repeat her 2008 victory and expect to see, riders like Kirstin Armstrong and Claudia Hausler (Cervelo Test Team), Trixi Worrack and Eva Lutz (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung) in the mix.

Nicole Cooke (Vision 1 Racing) should never be underestimated in this event either. Although the early season races have not seen great form apart with exception of the 4th in Flanders from Cooke, she has traditionally performed well in Belgium, being only one of two riders who have won the event three times..

Hopefully, making a return after breaking her collarbone in March, is the 2008 World Cup champion Judith Arndt (Team Columbia Highroad Women. Arndt hit an opening car door in a training ride before the start of the season and has been recovering over the last 6 weeks.  Arndt will be looking to make up time in the World Cup series so will be one to watch. 

Back to Top


2008 Review    

Click here for full 2008 Fleche coverage

Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) made the most of a strong finish on the Mur de Huy to take round 5 of the World Cup at Fleche Wallone. The Dutch, multiple-discipline, World Champion and reigning World Cup Champion timed her effort to perfection and was able to take time to take a victory salute at the finish. 

The warm, dry day which the riders enjoyed for the race complemented a parcours which heated up in the latter stages. The climbs were mainly in the second half of the course. As expected, the race stayed together until the efforts of the brutal ascents. With narrow roads and steep hills, to remain competitive, riders needed to maintain their position near to the front of the peloton.  

Although attempts by Team USA and Cervélo-Lifeforce riders were jumped on as soon as they began to look dangerous, the most promising move of the race came from three-times former winner, Fabiana Luperini (Menikini Selle Italia). She attacked on the Cote de Boisseau and accelerated away to a comfortable lead. Her maximum gap on the bunch was just over one minute, but the bunch were aware of the potential danger and had pulled her back to within site by the time they climbed the penultimate cote just after Ben-Ahin.  

The penultimate climb of the day proved to be the launching pad for the finale. As they climbed the lower slopes, Nicole Cooke (Great Britain) attacked and caused the race to split. With Cooke were Marta Bastianelli (Italy) and Judith Arndt (High Road), as well as Marianne Vos, Amber Neben Team Flexpoint) and other contenders.


Back to Top


Previous Winners -  La Flèche Wallonne Féminine

Year 1st 2nd 3rd
1998 Fabiana Luperini Pia Sundstet Catherine Marsal
1999 Hanka Kupfernagel Edita Pucinskaite Cindy Pieters
2000 Geneviève Jeanson Pia Sundstet Fany Lecourtois
2001 Fabiana Luperini Anna Millward Trixi Worrack
2002 Fabiana Luperini Lyne Bessette Priska Doppmann
2003 Nicole Cooke Susan Palmer-Komar Priska Doppmann
2004 Sonia Huguet Hanka Kupfernagel Edita Pucinskaite
2005 Nicole Cooke Oenone Wood Judith Arndt
2006 Nicole Cooke Judith Arndt Trixi Worrack
2007 Marianne Vos Nicole Cooke Judith Arndt
2008 Marianne Vos Marta Bastianelli Judith Arndt


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009 ©