Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of this event  >>   2008    2007    2006  

Thüringen Rundfahrt, 2009


WCN quicklink >>   Preview   Stage 1  Stage 1 Full    Stage 2  Stage 3 Stage 3 Full  Stage 4   Stage 4 Full  

                                    Stage 5  Stage 5 Full  Stage 6  Stage6 Full



On this page >>  Preview    Stages    Start List     




Thuringen Rundfahrt 2009



The 2009 edition of the Thuringen Rundfahrt Women will be the 22nd edition of the race. Starting in Altenburg the race covers six stages and a total of approximately 600 kilometres. This year's race finishes on the 26 July in Greiz, which this summer has its 800th anniversary to celebrate the new region of Triebes.
The six challenging stages revolves, as in previous years around the various towns of the region and the small market towns come to life and support this annual event. 

The stages are on average longer than in previous years stage, with the individual time trial on stage 4, mid way through the race. This year the TT will climb the infamous Dörtendorfer mountain for the first time and this could be a deciding factor in the race. The 15 percent climb, which is known locally as the "Hankaberg" because it is close to the home of the local Thuringian Olympian, and former World Champion, Hanka Kupfernagel, will form a challenging aspect to the time trial. Kupfernagel will ride the 2009 event in the national team. The major change for 2009 will be the absence of Judith Arndt (Team Columbia HTC) who crashed in stage 8 of the 2009 Giro Donne and will miss the chance to defend her 2007 and 2008 titles and win the event for the third time. 

Back to Top



Stage 1 - Altenburg, 70.7km, 21 July 2009

Stage 2 - Gera, 125.9km, 22 July 2009

Stage 3 - Schleiz, 125.2km 23 July 2009

Stage 4 - Treibes, 23.1km, Individual TT, 24 July 2009

Stage 5 - Schmoln, 104.5km, 25 July 2009

Stage 6 - Greiz 116km 26 July 2009

Back to Top


Start List

Provisional list of teams for 2009:

Team Columbia

Cervélo Test Team

Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung

Team DSB Bank - Nederland Bloeit

Red Sun Cycling

Vision 1 Racing

Bigla Cycling Team

Safi-Pasta Zara Titanedi

Team Flexpoint

Selle Italia Ghezzi

Gauss RDZ Ormu - Colnago

German National Team

MTN Energrade Cycling Team

Netherlands National Team

Team CMAX Dila

Team Uniqa ELK


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009©