Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Redlands  >>   2008    2007 

Redlands Cycling Classic 2009



WCN quicklink >>      Quick Update       Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full     Stage 3    Stage 3 Full    Stage 4    Stage 4 Full   





On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 4- Teutenberg marks her place in history

Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg succeeded in winning the Redlands Classic on Sunday in nail biting dramatic fashion. After taking third place in Thursday's uphill prologue, Teutenberg trailed Nurnberger's Amber Neben by 27 seconds. Gradually making up time over Friday and Saturday's stage Teutenberg went into the final stage still with two seconds to make up.  The stage finished in a sprint with Alison Powers taking the win and Teutenberg finishing safely in the top ten to win the overall tour by a mere second.

On a difficult course that consisted of nine laps of a hilly neighbourhood course in Redlands , the Columbia-Highroad women went on the attack to gain seconds. Winning the first time bonus sprint of the race at the top of the first climb, Teutenberg moved into the race lead by one second. The Columbia team raced to protect the lead over the next eight laps. A feat that proved harder than it looked. As well as constant attacks from Neben to get the jersey back, Teutenberg was involved in two crashes and had two punctured wheels.

The final stage of the Redlands Classic, came down to a bunch sprint after 9 laps of the Sunset Circuit. Alex Rhodes (Webcor Builders) worked hard on the front to break up the bunch in the final laps and managed to get away. Rhodes gained a gap on the bunch but was reeled in the in the closing stages.  

 In the closing kilometres the leading bunch of 24 riders, including Alex Wrubleski, Ina Teutenberg, Amber Neben, Cath Caroll and Alison Powers. Teutenberg had gained a 3 second advantage over Neben on the course, having started the day 2 seconds behind, Teutenber was 1 second ahead going into the last 2km of the race.

With 1 km to go, Cath Caroll attacked from the front of the bunch. She was not allowed to get away and there was an immediate counter attack from Alison Powers. The USA Time Trial champion kept her head down and crossed the line in first place. In the chase for second and valuable time bonuses, Joanne Kiesanowski (Tibco) crossed ahead of Nikki Butterfield (Webcor Builders), Lauren Tamayo (Tibco), Ina Yoko Teutenberg (Team Columbia Highraod Women), finished 5th. Amber Neben (Nurnberger Sho-air) finished 8th.

Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Ina Yoko Teutenberg (Team Columbia Highroad) was overjoyed to have won the Redlands Classic, "I couldn't have won this race today if I didn't have such a good team around me," said Teutenberg. "They kept the race together. They all stayed with me at all times to help me pacing on the climbs and get me in position for the next climb. The first time I punctured [on the penultimate lap], Emilia [Fahlin] gave me her wheel which was perfect. Unfortunately whilst we did that a girl came around the corner and crashed into us," added Teutenberg

"On the last lap I punctured my back wheel and had to go straight into a brick wall," continued Teutenberg. "Mara [Abbott] was right there with me and we swapped bikes. I rode to the finish on her bike and she came in on my bike which looked quite funny. We were also very happy with the way the field reacted to my crash on the last lap. They waited for me to get back up which was great sportsmanship," smiled Teutenberg

Back to Top

Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap Bonus
1 Alison Powers Team Type 1 2:53 12s
2 Joanne Kiesanowski Team Tibco s.t. 6s
3 Nikki Butterfield Webcor Builders Cycling s.t. 4s
4 Lauren Tamayo Team Tibco s.t.
5 Ina Yoko Teutenberg Team Columbia Highroad Women s.t. 3s
6 Kori Seehafer Team Type 1 s.t.
7 Kristen LaSasso Kahala La Grange s.t.
8 Amber Neben Nurnberger Shoair s.t.
9 Rebecca Much Webcor Builders Cycling s.t.
10 Julie Beveridge Team Tibco s.t.


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 Ina Yoko Teutenberg Team Columbia Highroad Women 7:09:41
2 Amber Neben Nurnberger Shoair 7:09:42 at 0:01
3 Alison Powers Team Type 1 7:10:08 at 0:27
4 Mara Abbott Team Columbia Highroad Women 7:10:22 at 0:41
5 Katheryn Mattis Webcor Builders Cycling 7:10:45 at 1:04
6 Lauren Tamayo Team Tibco 7:10 at 1:09
7 Kristin Sanders Value Act Capital 7:10:51 at 1:10
8 Alex Wrubleski Team Columbia Highroad Women s.t.
9 Meredith Miller Team Tibco 7:10 at 1:11
10 Christina Ruiter Value Act Capital s.t.


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009