Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Australian National Road Championships 2009



WCN quicklink >>    Road Race - Ryan double     Time Trial - Ryan wins     Road Race Preview    

                               Broun takes second criterium title




On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      Photos


Time Trial

Buningyong, Victoria, 28km


Race Writeup

Queensland’s Carla Ryan reclaimed her crown when she won the Elite Women’s Time Trial at the Scody Australian Open Road Championships held in Buninyong.

The 2007 champion covered the 28km course in a time of 41:21.05, edging out South Australia’s Alexis Rhodes 41:21.67 by a mere six tenths of a second, with Barcelona Olympic road race gold medallist Kathy Watt in third place 41:34.19.  

West Australian Josephine Tomic won the Under 23 title ahead of Queensland ’s Shara Gillow, with another West Australian Sarah Kent in third.

Tomic only arrived in Ballarat at midnight last night after racing the five day Jayco Bay Criterium Series, the 2007 triple junior World Champion posted a time of 42:56.14 on her first ever ride of the challenging Mt Buninyong course.
Queensland ’s Gillow, daughter of Moscow Olympian David, finished just over three seconds behind Tomic in a time of 42:59.84. Sarah Kent, who like Tomic arrived into Ballerat late after finishing the Bay classis continued her good form to take Bronze 43:18.06.

Former rowers Amber Halliday and Sally Robbins also lined up today with three time world rowing champion, Halliday, impressed on debut. The South Australia finished fourth in a time of 41:36.76 only two seconds off the bronze medal.

Meantime Robbins finished well down the field in 22nd place with her time of 47:04.58.

Vicki Whitelaw, one of the pre-race favourites, was on track for a podium finish before a puncture put paid to her medal hopes. She ended up in fifth place in a time of 42:40.00.


Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Carla Ryan (Cervelo Test Team) rode strongly to win the Australian TT championship. Chatting to reporters after the event Ryan said, “I didn’t expect it. I wanted to just go out and enjoy it 'cos' I hadn’t had awesome preparation.”

A former Victorian who moved from regional Victoria to Queensland in 2003, the diminutive Ryan battled strong winds midway through the race.
“The wind was crazy, and especially with my build, I was thrown around a bit," she said. "There were some massive wind gusts and I had to stay positive and keep the pressure on the pedals.”

After a 2008 which included signing her first professional contract with Cervelo-Test team in addition to competing in her first road World Championships, the 23-year-old also sealed a spot at the 2009 World Championships with her win.
“When I won in 2007, I was with the QAS ( Queensland Academy of Sport), so I didn’t get to wear the green and gold jersey very much, but now with Cervelo, it will be awesome to wear it on my skinsuit all year," said Ryan who will race around the world as a professional this year.

Alexis Rhodes (Webcor) was disappointed missing out on Gold by 6/10 of a second, "I'm happy with how I rode but to come second by such a small margin kind of hurts a bit," said Rhodes . "Full credit to Carla she rode awesome and she was a better bike rider on the day."

Josie Tomic (WA) rode exceptionally to win gold and cement her position as the top of the new breed of young riders rising up the ranks in Australia . “I am quite happy just coming off the Bay crits as Sarah ( Kent ) and I are quite tired,” Tomic said. “I didn’t actually mind the hill and I think I saved myself too much thinking it was going to be even more hilly. At least I know for next year.”

Shara Gillow  (Queensland) started strongly but could not match the speed of tomic. “I like time trialling and I like hills, so I am pretty stoked.” Gillows said.

Sarah Kent (WA) was a team mate to Tomic over the 5 day Bay Criterium races and worked really hard for Tomic. She carried the form to Ballerat but could not match the speed of the former junior world champion. “
My goal was just to get my name up there and on the podium, so I am happy,” said Kent .

Back to Top



Position Name State Time Km/Hr U23 Medals
Gold Carla RYAN QLD 41:21.05 40.63
Silver Alexis RHODES SA 41:21.67 40.62
Bronze Kathryn WATT VIC 41:34.19 40.41
4 Amber HALLIDAY SA 41:36.76 40.37
5 Vicki WHITELAW ACT 42:40.00 39.38
6 Rachel NEYLAN SA 42:41.49 39.35
7 Josephine TOMIC** WA 42:56.14 39.13 Gold medal U23
8 Shara GILLOW** QLD 42:59.84 39.07 Silver medal U23
9 Sarah KENT** WA 43:18.06 38.8 Bronze medal U23
10 Bronwyn RYAN ACT 43:18.07 38.8
11 Lisa JACOBS VIC 44:00.78 38.17
12 Zoe APPEL** QLD 44:13.88 37.98
13 Kerry KNOWLER ACT 44:50.49 37.47
14 Carlee TAYLOR** SA 44:58.13 37.36
15 Sophie OOTES** SA 45:23.42 37.01
16 Stephanie FRAWLEY SA 45:35.69 36.85
17 Rowena FRY MTB 45:45.91 36.71
18 Davina SUMMERS WA 46:22.90 36.22
19 Sarah ROY NSW 46:23.46 36.21
20 Nicole WHITBURN VIC 46:33.12 36.09
21 Veronica DUDDERIDGE** ACT 46:38.26 36.02
22 Sally ROBBINS WA 47:04.58 35.69
23 Nicole KEILY QLD 47:11.48 35.6
24 Irene DIGENIS VIC 47:24.55 35.44
25 Beth CANNY** VIC 48:31.35 34.62
26 Rebecca THYNE** NT 49:23.19 34.02
27 Claire MCLEAN WA 49:53.00 33.68


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

To Follow

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009 ©