Latest Additions

 Calendar 2009


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Australian National Road Championships 2009



WCN quicklink >>    Road Race - Ryan double     Time Trial - Ryan wins     Road Race Preview    

                               Broun takes second criterium title




On this page >>  Preview    Start List


Road Race Preview

10th January, Buninyong, 102km (10 laps of a circuit)

Race Preview

Much is being made of the entry by Judith Arndt (Team Columbia Women) to the road race on Saturday. Championships director John Craven today described the [overall] entry to the men's and women's Championships as overwhelming. “The championships are littered with class,” he said. “Buninyong is poised to host a feast of world-class cycling.

To have riders of the calibre of Michael Rogers and Judith Arndt contesting the titles is a terrific vote of confidence in the City of Ballarat’s promotion of the event.

Craven said Arndt was arguably the world’s best female road rider of the past decade. She won the road race at the 2004 World Championships and a silver medal at the Athens Olympic Games. She was also the individual pursuit world champion in 1997.

Whilst Arndt certainly has the most impressive 'palmeres' in the women's entry list, there are others who will not be overawed by her reputation and who will be looking for glory themselves. Last year's winner, Oenone Wood, is now retired; but there are other international riders on the start list too. 2008 silver medallist and Beijing Olympian, Sharon Laws (Great Britain) returns to the Australian Championships once again. Another Briton in the field is American-based Rachel Heal, who will ride in 2009 for the Colavita Sutter women's team. Jane Despas and Kate Ross are two Americans in the field. 

Of the Australians vying for the title, Ruth Corsett (fourth in 2008) and Rochelle Gilmore are likely to be in contention. So too, could be recently crowned Australian criterium Champion, Kirsty Broun. Australian road rider of 2008, Vikki Whitelaw will be looking for a good performance before heading to join her new team, Nicole Cooke's Vision 1 Racing, in Europe. Others heading back overseas to professional teams in 2009 are  Alexis Rhodes (Webcor) and Carla Ryan (Cervelo Test Team), who are also potential protagonists.

As with previous years, the strength of the possible breakaways and any counterattacks which are attempted could be commanded by the teamwork of riders from individual states. Queensland has a strong team again, so too, New South Wales.

Back to Top


Start List  

Number Name Nation / State Club
221 ARNDT Judith GER
222 O'DONNELL Bridie VIC Brunswick Cycling Club Inc
223 WHITELAW Vick! ACT Canberra Cycling Club
224 RHODES Alexis SA Norwood C.C.
225 WATT Kathryn VIC Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
226 CORSET Ruth OLD Townsville Cycle Club
227 RYAN Carla OLD Lifecycle Cycling Club
228 BROUN Kirsty QLD Lifecycle Cycling Club
230 FOSS Kate USA
231 HEAL Rachel GBIR
232 KNOWLER Kerry ACT Canberra Cycling Club
233 RG55 Megan ACT Canberra Cycling Club
234 RYAN Bronwyn ACT Canberra Cycling Club
235 FRY Rowena MTB MTBA
236 O'SHEA Katherine MTB MTBA
237 WILLETT Jodie MTB The Rider's Club
238 FINEGAN Kate NSW Hunter District CC
239 FORSYTH Sue NSW Northern Sydney CC
240 GILMORE Rochelle NSW Ban kstown Sports CC
241 GODDARD Danielle NSW Bathurst CC
242 JENKINS Amber NSW Sydney CC
243 NEWTON Tanya NSW Randwick Botany CC
244 O'BRIEN Jemma NSW Eurobodalla CTC
245 ROY Sarah NSW Randwick Botany CC
247 GROUNDS Simone OLD Lifecycle Cycling Club
248 MACKIE Emma OLD Balmoral Cycle Club
249 YOUNG Liz OLD Lifecycle Cycling Club
251 HALLIDAY Amber SA Norwood C.C.
252 NEYLAN Rachel SA Norwood C.C.
253 WARREN Kate TAS MerseyValley Devonport CC
254 ASTIER Delphine VIC Geelong
255 BERRIMAN Radele VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
257 DOMANGE Rebeeca VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
258 HOGAN Joanne VIC St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
259 JACOBS Lisa VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
260 LAWS Sharon VIC St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
261 LOCKE Relbecca VIC Coburg Cycling Club Inc
262 MCCLURE Angela VIC Ballarat/Sebastopol C C
263 MCDONALD Marilyn VIC Allbury-Woclonga CC
264 MCGIRATH Stephanle VIC St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
265 MCPHERSON Jenny VIC Carnegle Caulfield CC
266 MOLLER Myra VIC Carnegle Caulfield CC
267 RAYNER Rachel VIC Northcote Cycling Club Inc
268 ROGERS Maryam VIC St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
269 SPARGO Fiona VIC Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
270 SPYKERS Simone VIC Bairnsdale & Riviera C C
271 VILAHOPOULOS Clare VIC Carnegle Caulfield CC
272 WHITBURN Nicole VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
273 MCLEAN Claire WA Southern Districts CC
274 BOBBINS Sally WA Cyclo Sport Events
275 SUMMERS Davina WA Northern Districts WA
280 TAYLOR Carlee SA Norwood C.C.
281 CROMWELL Tiffany SA Norwood C.C.
283 KITCHEN Lauren NSW Port Macquarie CC
284 HOSKING Chloe ACT Canberra Cycling Club
285 MULLENS Peta VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
286 KENT Sarah WA Midland CC
287 APPEL Zoe OLD Balmoral Cycle Club
289 BELL Kristen ACT Canberra Cycling Club
290 DUDDERIDGE Veronica ACT Tuggeranong Vikings CC
291 ELVIN Gracie ACT Canberra Cycling Club
292 GALLOWAY Myfanwy ACT Canberra Cycling Club
293 THYNE Rebecca NT Alice Springs Cycling Club
296 CANNY Beth VIC Ballarat/Sebastopol C C
297 FRIEND Lisa VIC Carnegie Caulfield CC
298 MCINTOSH Chloe VIC Ballarat/Sebastopol C C

Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009©