Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklink >>  Lack of Funding means end of Team in best year ever     Team Specialized Designs for Women 2008


Jump on this page to >>    Team Roster 2008



Team Specialized Designs Expands and Improves

Added support for Emma Pooley in 2008

6 riders retained, others added including Tanja Hennes

Team Media Release

The UCI women’s trade team out of Zürich has undergone several changes for the next season with only six riders receiving a contract renewal and the addition of several new riders to support Emma Pooley at the International level.  

From the 2007 team Daniela Della Torre, Sarah Grab winner of Merdingen, Mirjam Hauser-Senn, Larssyn Rüegg and the German Birgit Söllner winner of the Strassenrennens von Rosenheim have all received new contracts and will be riding in the colors of Specialized Designs for Women in the up-coming season. In addition to these five we are happy to have Emma Pooley remain in the team leader position for the 2008 season.

One new arrival to the team is the German sprinter Tanja Hennes coming from the Bigla Cycling Team. Hennes has over twenty years of racing experience and will be a great strength to the team both tactic situations as well as the sprint.  Along with Tanja come two Swiss riders, Monika Furrer and Andrea Knecht, who have also transferred over from Bigla Cycling Team. During the 2006 season Furrer proved herself to be a strong domestic with very consistent results.  Knecht had a late start to the season due to a back injury but made a good recovery to win her home race in Wetzikon, Switzerland and to finish the Giro d’Italia.  

Another new transfer is Kristen LaSasso, USA, bringing a lot of experience from Team Lipton one of the strongest North American teams.  In addition to these riders the young Korean, Min Hye Lee, also joins the squad. She rode to her first victory Swiss victory in Visp, winning a two up sprint after breaking away with Nicole Cooke. Lee is the current Korean time-trial champion as well as the Asian pursuit champion. She currently resides at the UCI-Center in Aigle, Switzerland.  The young Danish rider Karina Hegelund Nielsen completes the team of twelve riders.  In the 2007 season Nielsen raced as a very successful junior winning the Danish professional women’s road race national championships.  Next year as her first year senior she will already be wearing the Danish national championships jersey.

Roger Rüegg will continue as team manager for his next third season running the team.  Working with Rüegg are Patrick Banfi and Ernst Meier as sportive directors, Erich Küng leading Soigneur, and Dani Reinhart media.

Back to Top

Emma Pooley in action as race leader in the Thuringen Rundfahrt 2007

Emma Pooley

Team Roster 2008

Monika Furrer                     SUI

Sarah Grab                         SUI

Mirjam Hauser-Senn            SUI

Karina Hegeluend Nielsen    DEN

Tanja Hennes                     GER

Andrea Knecht                   SUI

Kristen LaSasso                 USA

Hye Lee Min                       KOR

Emma Pooley                   GBR

Larssyn Rüegg                   USA

Birgit Söllner                     GER

Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2008©