Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



WCN quicklink >>  Priska Doppmann announces her retirement   Ryan signs for remainder of 2008    

                              Cervélo and Cycling United create Team Cervélo-Lifeforce



On this page >>     Priska Doppmann photos   Squad list         



Priska Doppmann announces retirement


Swiss Olympian bows out on a high

Cervelo Lifeforce's Priska Doppmann has confirmed her retirement. The Swiss Olympian has hung up her competitive wheels after 10 years in the elite peloton. 

Doppmann has represented Switzerland at three Olympic Games and finished in the top ten in both the road race and time trial in the period of her appearances. She also gained top ten positions five times at World Championships on the road (in either the road race or time trial) and was a member of the professional teams which won the World Cup team time trials in Denmark in 2006 and Sweden in 2008.

Doppmann went to Beijing knowing that the Olympic competition was to be her final competitive outing. Indeed, after the team time trial in Sweden, she bade "au revoir" to members of the elite women's peloton who would not be in China. 

Doppmann thanked those who have supported her throughout her career via a media release:   "... All my great results and success was not possible without the support of several persons like my coach and partner Thomas Campana, my entire family, all the team members and stuff around, Swiss Olympic and Swiss Cycling as well as my sponsors, supplier and patrons. I would like the say “thank you” to all of them for their tireless support.  

Whilst she may no longer pin on a number, the Swiss cyclist's presence will continue to be felt at the top. Doppmann will now concentrate on running the bicycle and components business which she founded in 2007. She is also a driving force behind the Cervelo Lifeforce team, which she and Campana have run in under its various guises since 2005.

Her most recent win was a stage win in the Thüringen Rundfahrt, 2008, where she was also awarded with the Amy Gillett memorial trophy for her sporting attitude, her fairness and her drive to attack throughout the race.  

Back to Top


Priska Doppmann

Click on any image to enlarge >>

 WC2_7281.jpg (94239 bytes) 

WC1_7302.jpg (137020 bytes)

WC1_9418.jpg (144726 bytes)

Back to Top


Squad 2008

Kristin Armstrong, USA, TT World Champion 2006

Karin Thürig, Switzerland, TT World Champion 2004 & 2005

Christiane Soeder, Austria, 3rd TT World Championships 2006

Priska Doppmann, Switzerland   - retired, August 2008

Sarah Düster, Germany

Emma Rickards, Australia

Patricia Schwager, Switzerland

Pascale Schnider, Switzerland

Carla Ryan, Australia

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2008©