Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


World Track Championships 2008

Previous coverage of the World Championships  >>  2011   2010   2009   2008    2007    2006    2005 

WCN quicklink >>    500m TT    Pursuit Qualifying   Pursuit Final    Team Sprint   Sprint Qualifying & Rounds   

                                   Team Pursuit   Sprint Finals   Points    Keirin Qualifying    Keirin Finals    Scratch race




On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      Photos



500m TT

Race Writeup

Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez wins her first senior World Champion jersey.

With the event removed from the Olympics, a number of top sprinters chose not to ride this event at this year’s World Championships.

The current World Record holder and 2004 Olympic Champion Anna Meares (Aus) was unable to compete at the event choosing to continue her recovery from her accident in LA, at home in Australia. Her absence provided an opportunity for the World Cup leader Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez to take the World Championship jersey in a time of 34.021 seconds.

Sandie Clair (FRA) was eighth to ride and was in first place in a time of 34.253 until the ride of Simona Krupeckaite (LTU) who completed the 500m in a time of 34.056. Guerra Rodriguez was last to ride and had the support of the crowd to will her to go faster. She did not disappoint, completing the first lap in a tim

Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Cuba) was extremely happy to have won her first senior World Champion jersey. “I am so happy, I have waited three years for this” she said, referring to the two junior World Champion jerseys she held. “Going last is always tough but I knew that I could do it” she added. She was asked about the absence of Anna Meares and she said, “Obviously it would have been good if she was here, I wish her well in her recovery and hope that she will be fit for Beijing.”

Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania) was very happy with her ride and her silver medal. “I am so happy, it was a difficult ride tonight” said Krupeckaite.

Sandie Clair (France) was in first place for a while and it looked like she would win gold until the rides of Krupeckaite and Guerra Rodriguez. Although a little disappointed not to have won the gold she said “I am very happy with Bronze. My focus is really the team sprint, I want to win a gold medal in that event.”

Back to Top



Position Name Country Time Km/Hr
1 Lisandra Guerra Rogriguez CUB 34.021 52.908
2 Simona Krupeckaite LTU 34.056 52.838
3 Sandie Clair FRA 34.253 52.550
4 Willy Kanis NED 34.254 52.548
5 Jinjie Gong CHN 34.449 52.251
6 Miriam Welte GER 34.666 51.924
7 Shanaze Reade GBR 34.702 51.870
8 Natallia Tsylinskaya BLR 34.725 51.835
9 Anna Blyth GBR 34.792 51.736
10 Yvonne Hijgenaar NED 34.896 51.581
11 Lulu Zheng CHN 34.992 51.440
12 Kaarle McCulloch AUS 35.026 51.390
13 Lyubov Shulika UKR 35.267 51.039
14 Diana Maria Orrego Garcia COL 35.505 50.697
15 Virginie Cueff FRA 35.520 50.675
16 Jutatip Maneephan THA 37.545 47.942

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_4923 WC1_4960 WC1_5009 WC1_5048 WC1_5098
WC1_5143 WC1_5204 WC1_5223 WC1_5249 WC1_5252
WC2_1610 WC3_4267 WC3_4274 WC3_4287 WC3_4297
WC3_4311 WC3_4321 WC3_4330 WC3_4337 WC3_4352


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2010©