Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Sydney World Cup Track


(World Cup Classics 2007 - 2008)


WCN quicklink >>  Day 3 Afternoon - Keirin and Team Pursuit Finals      Day 3 - Morning - Keirin and Team Pursuit Qualifying     

                                Day 2 Evening - Team Sprint and Points Finals    Day 2 Afternoon - Team Sprint and Points Qualifying  

                               Day 1 Morning - Sprint & Pursuit Qualifying    Day 1 Afternoon Scratch Qualifying     Day 1 Evening - Finals

                              Preview - EVERY current World Champ entered         Preview - record entries     

Event Website


On this page >>  Every World Champ will be in town    List of Champion Entrants    Champion Men    Ticket Info     




30 November - 2 December, Dunc Gray Velodrome, Sydney

Event media release

'It doesn't get any better than this' - World Champions storm Sydney for Track World Cup

Every individual 2007 World Champion will race the opening round of the 2007-2008 UCI Track World Cup Classics being staged at Sydney's Dunc Gray Velodrome from 30 November to 2 December.

The UCI (International Cycling Union) finalised the entry list this week and have confirmed 15 of the reigning 2007 track cycling World Champions will be in Sydney as the first step in their bids to qualify for the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

"It simply doesn't get any better than this," said UCI Vice President and Sydney resident, Ray Godkin OAM. "The Sydney World Cup will be the most competitive ever and I believe the field assembled in Sydney boasts some of the riders who will win gold next year in Beijing."

395 cyclists representing 48 nations, the biggest field ever assembled for an international track competition, will contest 17 events during the three days of intense competition.

"The importance of the World Cup series for Olympic qualification has seen an unprecedented number of nations and riders enter for both the Sydney round and the Beijing round to be contested a week later," said Mr Godkin. "That's fantastic for local sports fans who are going to be treated to an absolute feast of sporting excellence right here at home."

Headlining the talent will be homegrown champions Anna Meares (Team Toshiba) who claimed the 500m time trial crown in world record time in Majorca in March and Sydney's Kate Bates (T-Mobile) who came back from Spain with the points race gold medal. 

Back to Top


Champion Competitors

The reigning 2007 World Champions competing in Sydney are:

Katherine Bates (AUS - T-Mobile) womens points race

Yumari Gonzalez Valdivieso (CUB) - womens scratch race

Sarah Hammer (USA - Ouch Pro Cycling) women's 3km individual pursuit

Anna Meares (AUS - Team Toshiba) - women's 500m time trial

Victoria Pendleton (GBR - Science in Sport) - womens sprint, team sprint and keirin

The reigning Olympic Champions competing in Sydney are:

Anne Meares (AUS - Team Toshiba) - 500m time trial (no longer an Olympic event)

Olga Slyusareva (RUS) womens points race

Back to Top


Reigning World Champions competing in Sydney (men):

Gregory Bauge (FRA) mens team sprint

Theo Bos (NED) mens sprint

Mickael Bourgain (FRA - Cofidis) mens team sprint

Edward Clancy (GBR) men's team pursuit

Chris Hoy (GBR) mens keirin and kilometre time trial

Alois Kankovsky (CZE) men's omnium

Juan Lllaneras Rosello (ESP) - mens points race

Arnaud Tournant (FRA - Cofidis) mens team sprint

Bradley Wiggins (GBR) men's team pursuit, 4km individual pursuit

Kam Po Wong (HKG) men's scratch race

The reigning Olympic Champions competing in Sydney are:

Ryan Bayley (AUS - Team Toshiba) - keirin and sprint

Chris Hoy (GBR) kilometre time trial (no longer an Olympic event)

Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 4km individual pursuit

Stefan Nimke (GER) mens team sprint

Graeme Brown (AUS) mens teams pursuit and madison

Brett Lancaster (AUS) mens teams pursuit

Luke Roberts (AUS) mens teams pursuit

Mikhail Ignatiev (RUS) mens points race


Back to Top


Ticket Information

The opening round of the UCI World Cup Classics series will be staged at Sydney's Dunc Gray Velodrome from 30 November to 2 December. Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased online at www.trackworldcup.com.au or by phone on 1300 130 841

Finals sessions: Adult: $30 / Concession: $15 / Family: $70 / Premium Seating: $40
Qualifying sessions: Adult $15 / Concession $10 / Family $35
All Sessions Pass: $90

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.

Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2007