Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Sydney World Cup Track


(World Cup Classics 2007 - 2008)


WCN quicklink >>  Day 3 Afternoon - Keirin and Team Pursuit Finals      Day 3 - Morning - Keirin and Team Pursuit Qualifying     

                                Day 2 Evening - Team Sprint and Points Finals    Day 2 Afternoon - Team Sprint and Points Qualifying  

                               Day 1 Morning - Sprint & Pursuit Qualifying    Day 1 Afternoon Scratch Qualifying     Day 1 Evening - Finals

                              Preview - EVERY current World Champ entered         Preview - record entries     

Event Website




On this page >>  Team Sprint      Team Sprint Comments     Team Sprint Results      Photos

                           Points Race      Points Results      Photos

Day 2, Afternoon

Team Sprint & Points Qualifying

Team Sprint

The women’s team sprint was a new addition to the World Championships in 2007 and is a great opportunity for the sprinters to work together. In the heats it was the Dutch pairing of Yvonne Hijgenaar and Willy Kanis who delivered the best time ahead of the Australian paid of Kerrie Meares and Kaarle McCulloch. The Australians had to fight back from being 22/100th of a second down in their heat to win just 2/100th of a second The Dutch are the reigning silver medallist from Majorca 2007 and the Australians the 2007 Oceania champions having taken that title just a few weeks ago.

Hijgenaar and Kanis went 4/10ths faster in the heat than their time in Majorca and will make it a great final against the home team of Meares and McCulloch.

Qualifying for a chance to ride for Bronze were the French pair Sandie Clair and Virgine Cueff against the German pair of Dana Glöss and Miriam Welte. They qualified 3rd  and 4th respectively in the heat to have a chance to ride for a medal.

Back to Top

Post Race Comments

Willy Kanis and Yvonne Hijgenaar (NED) we’re very happy with their performance “It was the fastest first lap” said Kanis who was very fast out of the blocks. Yvonne Hijgenaar who had been sick earlier in the week pulled a great second lap. “I am very happy with our time, it was a great finishing time” said Hijgenaar.

Kerrie Meares and Kaarle McCulloch (AUS) were very happy with their qualification ride. “We are raptsaid Meares. McCulloch was all smiles too, “it was a PB for me and I think I still have time in the gate, I didn’t get such a good start and I feel I have more in my legs so I am happy with that.”  The Australians are keen to qualify for the Worlds, “it is very exciting for us” added Meares, “I have not ridden a team sprint in the World Championships before and I am really looking forward to it.”

Back to Top


Results - Team Sprint Qualifying

Position Name Country/Team Time Km/Hr
1 Yvonne Hijgenaar NED 33.672 53.456
Willy Kanis
2 Kaarle McCulloch AUS 34.635 51.97
Kerrie Meares
3 Sandie Clair FRA 34.648 51.951
Virginie Cueff
4 Dana Glöss GER 34.69 51.888
Miriam Welte
5 Valentina Alessio ITA 35.204 51.13
Elisa Frisoni
6 Jinjie Gong GPC 35.265 51.042
Fang Tian
7 Swetlana Grankowskaja RUS 35.282 51.017
Oksana Grishina
8 Natasha Hansen NZL 35.314 50.971
Jocelyn Rastrick

Back to Top

Team Sprint Photos


DSC_0984 DSC_0990 DSC_0993 DSC_1003 DSC_1005
DSC_1006 DSC_1019   DSC_1020  

Back to Top


Points Race Qualifying

The Points race heats saw Kate Bates (TMP) wearing the World Championship jersey for the first time since her victory in March. With Bates in the first heat with 19 riders and 20 in each of the last two this was always set to be a tough race. The only other medalist from the World Championships was Catherine Cheatley (NZL) who secured the bronze in March.

Heat 1

Despite a number of attacks no rider managed to get away for a lap in the first heat. Everyone had an eye on the World Champion Bates’ jersey. Leire Olaberria Dorronsoro (EUS) tried to attack constantly throughout the race, but it was the Chinese rider Jianling Wang who secured her place in the final in top place taking the last sprint.

Heat 2

New Zealand rider Catherine Cheatley attacked right from the bell but could not hold her pace as the first sprint approached. Sarah Hammer (OUC) powered to the front to secure the first 5 points. Immediately 3 riders attacked Marlijn  Binnendijk (NED), Inge Cilivnaite (AGS) and Christy King (SBW) managed gain a lap on the bunch. Trine Schmidt (DEN) jumped off the front with 24 laps to go managing to secure a lap too. The final big attack came from Malaysian Uracca Leow who jumped with 9 to go and managed to just get to the back of the bunch before the final attack for the last points. The final sprint was won by Eugeniya Romanyuta (RUS).

Heat 3  

The Malaysians were determined to another rider into the final, with that in mind Azian Alias attacked at 38 laps to go and managed to hold on to win the first 5 sprint points. Unfortunately for her she could not keep the pace and got lapped by the bunch

Cathy Moncassin Prime (FRA) attacked with 17 laps to go and managed to secure a lap on the bunch and a place in the final. Immediately as Three riders Moncassin Prime had reached the bunch she moved through and attacked again, this time Korean Hin Hye Lee, Mandy Poitras (CAN) and Josephine Tomic (AUS) jumped. This caused a reaction in the bunch and they closed the gap. With 2 to go it was Iona Wynter (JAM) who attacked in a last ditch attempt to secure a place in the final. The bunch reacted and Giorgia Bronzini (SAF) and Olga Slyusareva (RUS) powered by with the bunch on their wheels to deny Wynter a place in the final.


Back to Top


Results - Points Race Qualifying

On the way

Back to Top


Points Race Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>


DSC_1063 DSC_1069 DSC_1070 DSC_1072 DSC_1073
DSC_1078 DSC_1083 DSC_1085 DSC_1088 DSC_1095
DSC_1097 DSC_1102 DSC_1104 DSC_1109 DSC_1111
DSC_1124 IMG_5933 IMG_5938 IMG_5944 IMG_5952
IMG_5955 IMG_5960 IMG_5964 IMG_5967 IMG_5976
IMG_5988   IMG_5999   


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.



Back to Top 

Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2008 ©