Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of this  event  >>  2009    2008    2007    2006    2005  

Ster Zeeuwsche Eilanden (Rabo Tour) 2008



WCN quicklink >>    Stage 1      Stage 1 Full    Stage 2    Stage 2 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up    Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 2

Middelburg - Vlissingen, 109km

Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (High Road) sprinted to victory in a bunch sprint. The stage was characterised by strong winds and constant attacks. With no-one able to gain a meaningful gap over the bunch, there was little surprise that the in-form sprinters, Teutenberg, Wild and Brodtka were towards the front of affairs as the race turned the 90 degree corner just 300 metres from the finish line.

Teutenberg opened up a certain gap as the final 100 metres were covered, with the riders strung out behind her. Despite a stage bonus of 10 seconds, Teutenberg could not topple the race leader, Kirsten Wild (AA Drink) from her lead position. The German did, however, close the gap to just 5 seconds, from the deficit of 11 overnight. Teutenberg now sits in second place overall.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Bonus / Gap
1 Teutenberg, Ina Team High Road Women *  2:40:25 10
2 Wild, Kirsten AA-Drink Cycling Team *   same 6
3 Brodtka, Angela Team DSB Bank *   same 4
4 van de Ree, Monique RSC De Zuidwesthoek same
5 Bras, Martine Vrienden vh Platteland same
6 van Hage, Elise Team Flexpoint same
7 Rotmensen, Moniek RT Ton v Bemmelen/Odysis same
8 Bosman, Andrea Team DSB Bank same
9 Mackie, Emma Lotto-Belisol LadiesTeam same
10 De Vocht, Liesbeth Vrienden vh Platteland same

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Bonus / Gap
1 Wild, Kirsten AA-Drink Cycling Team 2:49:22:00
2 Teutenberg, Ina Team High Road Women 02:49:27 00:05
3 van Dijk, Ellen Vrienden vh Platteland 02:49:32 00:10
4 Bruins, Regina RT Ton v Bemmelen/Odysis 02:49:36 00:14
5 van Vleuten, Annemiek Vrienden vh Platteland 02:49:55 00:33
6 Rhodes, Alexis Team High Road Women 02:49:56 00:34
7 Bates, Katherine Team High Road Women same
8 Slappendel, Iris Team Flexpoint 02:49:57 00:35
9 Koedooder, Vera Lotto-Belisol LadiesTeam same
10 van Hage, Elise Team Flexpoint 02:50:03 00:41

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_3544 WC1_3547 WC1_3565 WC1_3602 WC1_3642
WC1_3703 WC2_2470 WC2_2475 WC2_2492 WC2_2511

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009