Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 9

Limoux 71km


Race Writeup

With rain and two topographical difficulties, the 9th and final stage of the Tour de l'Aude-the shortest, with its 71-km was one of the hardest contested. 

The day saw the success of Judith Arndt, confirmation of the overall victory of Susanne Ljungskog and the return to 3rd place (overall standings) Trixi Worrack. The fight was actually triggered by Worrack, anxious to recover the 3rd place in the overall rankings. Worrack won the support of compatriot Arndt. Nevertheless, in Villardebelle, the two Germans were overwhelmed by Ljungskog and Cooke. In the winding descent on wet roads, the quartet was consolidated at the front. The group Van den Broek was at 1'15 ". Another group, including Teutenberg and Salvetat was at 2 minutes.

In the sprint finish in Limoux, Arndt arrived before Ljungskog, Cooke (who appealed that she was 'switched' in the sprint and unsuccessfully filed claims) - and Worrack. 

Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Judith Arndt (High Road)  "I think we should be happy about the tour. It was a very tactical race. We were not the strongest team for the mountains and we had some bad luck with Luise [Keller] crashing early in the week, but overall we did well."

"It was a little disappointing after the race as Cooke protested the sprint and that doesn't feel good," explained Arndt. "But I'm happy with our overall tour."

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap / Bonus
1 ARNDT Judith TMP 01h54'56" 10"
2 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 01h54'56" 7"
3 COOKE Nicole GRB 01h54'56" 7"
4 WORRACK Trixi NUR 01h54'56" 2"
5 BRODTKA Angela DSB 01h55'55" 59"
6 VAN DEN BROEK Irene AAD 01h55'55"
7 LAWS Sharon GRB 01h55'55" 59"
8 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 01h55'55"
9 JOHANSSON Emma AAD 01h55'55" 59"
10 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 01h55'55"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 23h55'05"
2 ARNDT Judith TMP 23h58'40" 03'35"
3 WORRACK Trixi NUR 23h59'07" 04'02"
4 COOKE Nicole GRB 23h59'28" 04'23"
5 VAN DEN BROEK Irene AAD 24h00'02" 04'57"
6 LAWS Sharon GRB 24h00'16" 05'11"
7 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 24h00'47" 05'42"
8 NEBEN Amber USA 24h01'12" 06'07"
9 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 24h02'11" 07'06"
10 *BRUINS Regina NED 24h02'20" 07'15"


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_1078 WC1_1081 WC1_1086 WC1_1097 WC1_1103
WC1_1109 WC1_1142 WC1_1193 WC1_1197 WC1_1203
WC1_1214 WC1_1223 WC1_1243 WC2_9764 WC2_9793
WC2_9821 WC2_9827 WC2_9831 WC2_9865 WC2_9867
WC2_9878 WC2_9881 WC2_9886 WC2_9901 WC2_9927


Back to Top

Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009