Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website



On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 8

Bram, 119 km


Race Writeup

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg went head-to-head with Sara Carrigan (Lotto Belisol) on the tight, winding finishing straight in Bram. The German managed to take the win, half a wheel ahead of the Australian. This, her second win of the 2008 Tour de l'Aude moved her to a new level in the race's history. She has equalled the all-time number of stage wins, previously held alone by (retired) compatriot, Petra Roßner. The colleagues at High Road (Roßner is on the staff at the team) now hold a record 15 stage wins each in the Tour.

Adrie Visser (DSB) was the rider who made a large impact on the stage, she broke away after about 40 kilometres had been covered. With three minutes advantage at half-stage, the Dutchwoman managed to stay away over the main climb of the day, Col de la Malepère and looked a strong contender to stay away for the win until a puncture towards the end of the descent put paid to her chances. She was caught and passed by the chasers near to Montréal.

With two team-mates in the leading group, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (High Road) was able to save her energy for the sprint. Indeed, Linda Villumsen and Judith Arndt worked hard for the German by covering any breaks which were attempted in the closing kilometres. At one point, Sharon van Essen (DSB Bank) was a little ahead of the group, but she was brought back before the race entered Bram.

The bunch sprint was contested by 37 riders, a lot of people to fit through the narrow streets in Bram. Sara Carrigan looked to have the advantage in the final 50 metres, but Teutenberg kicked and squeezed a little more out of her legs to win. Angela Brodtka (DSB Bank) was third.

Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (High Road) -

"I was a bit lucky because I was really tired after getting into the break and it was windy, too. Another rider went for it on the other side of the road at the finish and I thought it would be close but I finally won by about a bike length."

"Judith [Arndt] and Linda [Villumsen] were with me in the break and they did a great job of pulling back the moves. The attacks kept going but Judith kept on pulling them back."

"I was by myself in the finale, but that was only logical after all the work my team-mates had had to do. It was up to me to do the rest. I just positioned myself well and sat on wheels through to the finish. After everything they had done for me, the least I could do was try as hard as possible to go for the win."

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Bonus
1 TEUTENBERG Ina TMP 03h08'35" 10"
2 CARRIGAN Sara LBL 03h08'35" 6"
3 BRODTKA Angela DSB 03h08'35" 4"
4 CORAZZA Martina GAU 03h08'35"
5 BOSMAN Andrea DSB 03h08'35"
6 JOHANSSON Emma AAD 03h08'35"
7 DE GOEDE Suzanne NUR 03h08'35"
8 WORRACK Trixi NUR 03h08'35"
9 MARTISOVA Julia GAU 03h08'35"
10 POLIKEVICIUTE Jolanta LTU 03h08'35"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Bonus
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 22h00'16"
2 ARNDT Judith TMP 22h03'54" 03'38"
3 VAN DEN BROEK Irene AAD 22h04'07" 03'51"
4 WORRACK Trixi NUR 22h04'13" 03'57"
5 LAWS Sharon GRB 22h04'21" 04'05"
6 COOKE Nicole GRB 22h04'39" 04'23"
7 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 22h04'52" 04'36"
8 NEBEN Amber USA 22h05'17" 05'01"
9 THORBURN Christine WEB 22h06'04" 05'48"
10 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 22h06'16" 06'00"

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_0762 WC1_0787 WC1_0831 WC1_0861 WC1_0867
WC1_0870 WC1_0873 WC1_0895 WC1_0908 WC1_0970
WC1_0977 WC1_1031 WC1_1051 WC2_9610 WC2_9643
WC2_9647 WC2_9654 WC2_9668 WC2_9676 WC2_9688
WC2_9701 WC2_9704 WC2_9718 WC2_9731 WC2_9743


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009©