Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up    Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 7

Castelnaudary 108km


Race Writeup

Zoulfia Zabirova (Bigla) rode away from a small break group to win solo for another time in the 2008 Tour de l'Aude. With sprinters in the group with her, the Kazakh RR Champion knew that a lone effort would be her only means of success, especially since team-mate sprinter, Monica Holler slipped off the break and went back into the bunch about 20 km form the finish. 

In a (kind of) repeat of Zabirova's previous win, USA took second place again. This time, it was Katherine Carroll who sprinted in ahead of Martine Bras (NED).

The bunch arrived 4 minutes 58 seconds later. Susanne Ljungskog (Menikini), the race leader finished safely within.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap Bonus
1 ZABIROVA Zulfia BCT 02h55'54" 10"
2 CARROLL Katherine USA 02h56'25" 31" 6"
3 BRAS Martine NED 02h56'25" 31" 4"
4 VAN DEN BROEK Irene AAD 02h56'27" 33" 2"
5 TOUFFET Elodie GAU 02h56'32" 38" 1"
6 LUTZ Eva NUR 02h56'36" 42"
7 TEUTENBERG Ina TMP 02h56'36" 42"
8 VISSER Adrie DSB 02h56'48" 54"
9 HOHL Jennifer BCT 02h56'48" 54"
10 WERNER Laure AAD 02h56'51" 57"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 18h51'43"
2 ARNDT Judith TMP 18h55'22" 03'39"
3 VAN DEN BROEK Irene AAD 18h55'32" 03'49"
4 WORRACK Trixi NUR 18h55'38" 03'55"
5 LAWS Sharon GRB 18h55'46" 04'03"
6 COOKE Nicole GRB 18h56'04" 04'21"
7 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 18h56'17" 04'34"
8 NEBEN Amber USA 18h56'42" 04'59"
9 THORBURN Christine WEB 18h57'29" 05'46"
10 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 18h57'41" 05'58"

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_0545 WC1_0561 WC1_0570 WC1_0580 WC1_0588
WC1_0595 WC1_0614 WC1_0619 WC1_0636 WC1_0646
WC1_0663 WC1_0681 WC2_9375 WC2_9381 WC2_9383
WC2_9387 WC2_9393 WC2_9409 WC2_9417 WC2_9429
WC2_9437 WC2_9439 WC2_9489 WC2_9490 WC2_9506
WC2_9537 WC2_9541 WC2_9564 WC2_9568 WC2_9571
WC2_9579 WC2_9580 WC2_9586 WC2_9592  

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009