Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 6

Rennes les Bain - Axat  117km


Race Writeup

In was the day of the National teams on Stage 6. The top three comprised riders not from pro teams, but from national selections. With three tough climbs, the route from Rennes les Bain to Axat was never going to be easy. However, there were many riders with team orders and personal ambitions attacking on the three gnarly first category climbs on a course which actually ran alongside the Aude river when in the valleys.

Sharon Lawa initially escaped on the final climb with race leader, Susanne Ljungskog (Menikini Selle Italia). However, they were brought back by an attentive bunch which had been reduced to about 23 riders. Laws tried again and got away with Dutchwoman, Regina Bruins with about 40km to go. The long run-in from Couzia to Axat was suited to the pair's abilities and they worked well together. With 15 km to go, Vikki Whitelaw (AUS) bridged across to the pair. They worked together on the road which rose for the final 20 km. 

It was Whitelaw who proved strongest on the final, cruel slope up the Rue du 19 Mars in Axat. She convincingly  beat Laws, who was giving everything to stay in touch. Regina Bruins has little more to give and finished 6 seconds down on the front pair. 

The main bunch finished 47 seconds behind and contained race leader, Susanne Ljungskog, safely defending the race lead for another day.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap Bonus
1 WHITELAW Vicki AUS 03h10'16" 10"
2 LAWS Sharon GRB 03h10'16" 6"
3 *BRUINS Regina NED 03h10'22" 06" 4"
4 PUCINSKAITE Edita NUR 03h10'52" 36"
5 LIEBIG Tina DSB 03h10'59" 43"
6 *RYAN Carla AUS 03h11'01" 45"
7 COOKE Nicole GRB 03h11'03" 47"
8 ARNDT Judith TMP 03h11'03" 47"
9 POLIKEVICIUTE Jolanta LTU 03h11'03" 47"
10 CANTELE Noemie BCT 03h11'03" 47"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 15h50'51"
2 ARNDT Judith TMP 15h54'30" 03'39"
3 WORRACK Trixi NUR 15h54'46" 03'55"
4 LAWS Sharon GRB 15h54'54" 04'03"
5 COOKE Nicole GRB 15h55'12" 04'21"
6 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 15h55'25" 04'34"
7 NEBEN Amber USA 15h55'50" 04'59"
8 THORBURN Christine WEB 15h56'37" 05'46"
9 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 15h56'49" 05'58"
10 *BRUINS Regina NED 15h56'58" 06'07"

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_0306 WC1_0310 WC1_0314 WC1_0319 WC1_0343
WC1_0354 WC1_0363 WC1_0393 WC1_0431 WC1_0434
WC1_0442 WC1_0463 WC1_0512 WC1_0526 WC2_9220
WC2_9238 WC2_9259 WC2_9261 WC2_9282 WC2_9324
WC2_9333 WC2_9337 WC2_9348 WC2_9350  


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009