Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 4

Osseja, 101km


Race Writeup

Susanne Ljungskog (Menikini Selle Italia) rode into the yellow jersey with a huge solo break in the Pyrenees. The Swedish Champion bided her time before attacking late on the second climb (of three) of the stage.

Sara Carrigan (Lotto Belisol) was first to light up the action. The Australian broke away and gained 40 seconds on the bunch after the major climb of the day and heading up the second. 

This was a tough day in the mountains, made tougher for Team High Road as they were forced to chase Ljungskog with little help from the others in the front group. Judith Arndt, the race leader, was there. So too was Dane, Linda Villumsen. However, the presence in the group of Équipe Nürnberger's Trixi Worrack (who started the day in second place at twelve seconds on GC) and Claudia Hausler, leader of the young rider competition, meant that the yellow jersey and her team-mate were on their own in pursuit of Ljungskog.

The rolling run-in to the finish allowed the Swede to extend her lead, to 6 minutes at one point. She enjoyed her win and crossed the line 2'53" ahead of American, Alison Powers. The rest came to the line in small groups. Judith Arndt was 4 minutes 20 seconds down, ending her time in the yellow jersey, which she conceded to Ljungskog.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap Bonus
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 02h52'21" 16"
2 POWERS Alison USA 02h55'14" 02'53" 6"
3 JOHANSSON Emma AAD 02h55'25" 03'04" 4"
4 EGYED Nikki AUS 02h55'27" 03'06"
5 LAWS Sharon GRB 02h55'33" 03'12"
6 SALVETAT Maryline FRA 02h55'33" 03'12"
7 WILLOCK Erinne WEB 02h55'36" 03'15"
8 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 02h56'09" 03'48"
9 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 02h56'37" 04'16" 1"
10 COOKE Nicole GRB 02h56'39" 04'18"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 09h42'53"
2 ARNDT Judith TMP 09h46'32" 03'39"
3 WORRACK Trixi NUR 09h46'48" 03'55"
4 COOKE Nicole GRB 09h47'14" 04'21"
5 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 09h47'27" 04'34"
6 LAWS Sharon GRB 09h47'49" 04'56"
7 NEBEN Amber USA 09h47'52" 04'59"
8 THORBURN Christine WEB 09h48'39" 05'46"
9 *VILLUMSEN Linda TMP 09h48'51" 05'58"
10 MELCHERS Mirjam NED 09h49'10" 06'17"

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_0052 WC1_0072 WC1_0079 WC1_0089 WC1_0091
WC1_0117 WC1_0119 WC1_0126 WC1_0133 WC1_0152
WC1_0161 WC1_0163 WC1_0164 WC1_0169 WC1_0173
WC1_0177 WC1_0188 WC1_0200 WC1_0232 WC2_8925
WC2_8926 WC2_8934 WC2_8948 WC2_8976 WC2_8979
WC2_8988 WC2_9000 WC2_9005 WC2_9016 WC2_9019


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009©