Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Previous coverage of Tour de L'Aude  >>  2009   2008    2007    2006

Tour de l'Aude 2008


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue   Prologue Full    Stage 1    Stage 1 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full   Stage 3   Stage 3 Full

                                Stage 4    Stage 4 Full    Stage 5     Stage Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full     Stage 7    Stage 7 Full

                               Stage 8    Stage 8 Full    Stage 9    Stage 9 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 3

Lezignan Corbieres 111km

Race Writeup

This transition stage between the climbs yesterday and the Pyrenean "queen" stage 4 was relatively flat. A circuit around the villages close to Carcassonne provided some narrow roads for the bunch to negotiate.

The major break of the day was made by Angela Brodtka (DSB Bank), she escaped in the latter part of the stage and quickly gained almost a minute on the chasing group. The bunch were further behind at this point. In the chasing group was Zoulfia Zabirova (Bigla), who was attentive at the front all day. 

Within the final 20 kilometres, the bunch caught the chasing group. But a brave move by Zabirova saw her bridge across to Brodtka. The Kazakhstan road champion was able to leave Brodtka on the way in to the finish at Lezignan Corbieres and finished solo. Brodtka was able to stay away and finished second. Diane Ziliute (Lithuania) led the bunch around the final, 90 degree, corner at 150 metres to go. She took the wide line, kept on going because she was able to maintain more of her speed into the corner and managed to take third.

Judith Arndt (High Road) finished in the bunch and held on to her race leader's yellow jersey. The other competition leaders remained unchanged too : Ljungskog; points, Holler, sprints, Hausler; young rider, Laws; mountains.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Team Time Gap Bonus
1 ZABIROVA Zulfia BCT 02h52'54" 10"
2 BRODTKA Angela DSB 02h53'40" 46" 9"
3 ZILIUTE Diana LTU 02h53'55" 01'01" 4"
4 GRAIN Gina WEB 02h53'55" 01'01"
5 DE GOEDE Suzanne NUR 02h53'55" 01'01"
6 MARTISOVA Julia GAU 02h53'55" 01'01"
7 BECKER Charlotte NUR 02h53'55" 01'01"
8 BELVEDERESI Tania GAU 02h53'55" 01'01"
9 MILLER Brooke USA 02h53'55" 01'01"
10 LE FLOCH Magali FRA 02h53'55" 01'01"

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 ARNDT Judith TMP 06h49'55"
2 WORRACK Trixi NUR 06h50'07" 12"
3 COOKE Nicole GRB 06h50'35" 40"
4 LJUNGSKOG Susanne MSI 06h50'48" 53"
5 *HAUSLER Claudia NUR 06h50'51" 56"
6 KELLER Luise TMP 06h50'52" 57"
7 NEBEN Amber USA 06h51'11" 01'16"
8 THORBURN Christine WEB 06h51'35" 01'40"
9 LAWS Sharon GRB 06h52'16" 02'21"
10 *RYAN Carla AUS 06h52'29" 02'34"

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

WC1_0009 WC1_0017 WC1_0046 WC1_9910 WC1_9920
WC1_9937 WC1_9944 WC1_9961 WC1_9964 WC1_9987
WC1_9995 WC1_9999 WC2_8743 WC2_8746 WC2_8750
WC2_8768 WC2_8771 WC2_8782 WC2_8800 WC2_8810
WC2_8822 WC2_8825 WC2_8853 WC2_8864 WC2_8870

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009