Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Australian National Track Championships 2008


WCN quicklink >> Programme      Pursuit Qualifying & Finals    Team Sprint     500m TT    Points Race    Team Pursuit

                            Sprint Qualifying    Sprint Quarter Finals    Sprint 5-8 Finals    



On this page >>  Under 19 Qualifying      Under 19 Final     Senior Qualifying      Senior Final 


Pursuit Events

Under 19 and senior, qualifying and finals

West Australian, Josephine Tomic stepped up to the senior ranks with apparent ease to win the women's 3km individual pursuit crown. The 18 year old, who won three gold medals at last year's junior World Championships and holds the junior World Record over 2000m, made light work of the extra kilometre overtaking her Victorian opponent, Tess Downing, on the final lap of the gold medal ride to record a time of 3min41.953sec, almost 10 seconds faster than Downing's silver medal time of 3min51.365sec.

"I am really happy," said Tomic. "My first senior title is great, though I would have liked to do a sub three minutes 40.

"That extra kilometre, it doesn't sound like much, but it really takes its toll (and) hopefully next time I do it I will do a sub 3.40," she added.

In the U19 women's 2km individual pursuit Western Australia's Sarah Kent won gold with a time more than eight seconds faster than silver medallist Ashlee Andkudinoff (NSW).

Kent, who was the silver medallist behind Tomic at last year's Junior World and Australian Championships, rode a time of 2min25.911sec compared with Andkudinoff's 2min34.510sec. 16 year old Megan Dunn (NSW), who last month became the youngest rider to win Victoria's Bay Criterium Series in the 19 year history of the event, showed she also has promise on the track claiming the bronze medal (2min39.212sec).

Back to Top

Under 19 Qualifying

Rank Name State Speed Time
1 Sarah KENT WA 49.48 02:25.5
2 Ashlee ANKUDINOFF NSW 49.28 02:26.1
3 Megan DUNN NSW 48.32 02:29.0
4 Melissa HOSKINS WA 48.02 02:29.9
5 Sophie OOTES SA 47.71 02:30.9
6 Camille PALLETT WA 47.02 02:33.1
7 Carly McCOOMBE VIC 46.48 02:34.9
8 Jessica SEDUNARY SA 46.21 02:35.8
9 Kendelle HODGES VIC 46.01 02:36.5
10 Chloe HOSKING ACT 45.8 02:37.2
11 Lauren KITCHEN NSW 45.68 02:37.6
12 Veronica DUDDERIDGE ACT 45.03 02:39.9
13 Myfanwy GALLOWAY ACT 44.11 02:43.2

Back to Top


Under 19 Final

Place Name State Speed Time
1 Sarah KENT WA 49.35 02:25.9
2 Ashlee ANKUDINOFF NSW 46.6 02:34.5
3 Megan DUNN NSW 48.25 02:29.2
4 Melissa HOSKINS WA 47.12 02:32.8

Back to Top


Senior Qualifying

Rank Name State Speed Time
1 Josephine TOMIC WA 48.47 03:42.8
2 Tess DOWNING VIC 47.58 03:47.0
3 Helen KELLY VIC 47.39 03:47.9
4 Vicki WHITELAW ACT 46.73 03:51.1
5 Jessie MACLEAN ACT 46.27 03:53.4
6 Rebecca BARWICK ACT 45.95 03:55.0
7 Davina SUMMERS WA 44.25 04:04.1

Back to Top


Senior Final 

Place Name State Speed Time
1 Josephine TOMIC WA 48.66 03:42.0
2 Tess DOWNING VIC 46.68 03:51.4
3 Vicki WHITELAW ACT 47.27 03:48.5
4 Helen KELLY VIC 47.01 03:49.7

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009