Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Australian National Track Championships 2008


WCN quicklink >> Programme      Pursuit Qualifying & Finals    Team Sprint     500m TT    Points Race    Team Pursuit

                            Sprint Qualifying    Sprint Quarter Finals    Sprint 5-8 Finals    



On this page >>  Under 19      Senior     


500m TT

Under 19 & Senior

In the 500m time trial Sydney's Kaarle McCulloch, 20, added the mantle of Australian Champion to her Oceania Championship crown with her time of 34.939sec. She was the only rider to complete the two laps in under 35 seconds, averaging 51.52km/hr.

"I am happy with the win, but I was a bit disappointed with the time as it was just off my PB of 34.84," said McCulloch. "I worked a bigger gear tonight and it seemed to work alright, though I died a bit in the last lap, but now I know I have something to work on."

The absence due to injury of Anna Meares, and the reigning World and Olympic Champion's focus on racing the sprint in Beijing puts McCulloch in the picture for the upcoming World Championships in Manchester (March 26-30).

"I certainly have big steps to follow in Anna's footsteps and hope that I do well in the world championships for Australia," said McCulloch who is hopeful of selection in the team. "The time trial is my strong point and long term that's what I will be concentrating on.

"I would really like to win a world title and it might come back in 2012 (Olympic Games) so I will keep focussing on it and also look to be strong across all four (sprint) events."

2002 Commonwealth Games champion Kerrie Meares (35.478sec) won silver with West Australian Josephine Butler taking bronze in 37.326sec.

Under 19

South Australia's Annette Edmondson, 16, claimed the women's U19 500m time trial crown with a scorching ride less than a second outside the World Record. The reigning junior Oceania Champion averaged 51.28km/hr and set a new Australian record with 35.101sec, eclipsing Kerrie Meares' 1999 mark by more half a second.

"I didn't know I was so close to the World Record and I was just hoping to break 36, so yeah I am pretty happy," said Edmondson.

Queenslander Philippa Hindmarsh took the silver medal in 36.916sec with another South Australian, Stephanie Morton, securing third place (36.943sec).

Back to Top


Under 19

Place Name State Speed Time
1 Annette EDMONDSON SA 51.28 35.101
2 Philippa HINDMARSH QLD 48.76 36.916
3 Stephanie MORTON SA 48.72 36.943
4 Teegan MORTON WA 48.03 37.478
5 Naomi PINTO VIC 47.56 37.849
6 Sinead COSGROVE NSW 47.26 38.09
7 Caitlin TODD ACT 46.48 38.73
8 Laine HAMMOND VIC 46.19 38.97
9 Veronica DUDDERIDGE ACT 44.78 40.2


Back to Top



Place Name State Speed Time
1 Kaarle McCULLOCH NSW 51.52 34.939
2 Kerrie MEARES QLD 50.74 35.478
3 Josephine BUTLER WA 48.22 37.326
4 Laura MCCAUGHEY TAS 48.14 37.393
5 Esther PUGH-UREN VIC 47.14 38.186


Back to Top

Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2009