Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


UCI World Cup 2007

World Cup Coverage  >>   2009   2008    2007    2006    2005

World Cup>>   Round 1  Geelong    Round 2   Vlaanderen      Round 3   Drenthe     Round 4   Fleche     Round 5  Berne   

                       Round 6  Montreal   Round 7  Sweden    Round 8  Plouay    Round 9  Nurnberg preview    Round 9  Nurnberg write-up




On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results     Standings    


World Cup Round 8

GP de Plouay, 114km

Race Writeup

Naomi Cantele (Team Bigla) repeated her 2005 victory in the GP de Plouay with a solo win in 2007. After an aggressive race, where she featured in breaks, the Italian broke away on the final lap, to create a 28 seconds lead over second-placed Nicole Cooke at the finish.

The race was relatively quiet for the first three of 6 laps. At around half-distance, a break by Noemi Cantele (Team Bigla) and Giorgia Bronzini (Italian National Team) was covered by Susanne Ljungskog (Team Flexpoint) and Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (T-Mobile). The group was joined by several others and maintained a gap over the bunch for around ten kilometres, until a counterattack on by Marta Bastianelli (Italian National Team) with around 30 kilometres to go. 

Bastianelli quickly managed to create a gap over the chasers. She was joined a few kilometres later on the next climb by Noemi Cantele (Team Bigla) and Judith Arndt (T-Mobile). The three worked together through to the end of the penultimate lap, where they were caught and drawn back into a chasing group of around 15 riders. The group was just a handful of seconds ahead of the main bunch as they passed through the start / finish area with 19 kilometres to go – there was everything still to race for….

During the final lap, Noemi Cantele (Team Bigla), Marta Bastianelli (Italy) and Oenone Wood (T-Mobile) jumped away from the chasing group.  World Cup leader, Nicole Cooke (Raleigh) sensed the danger and accelerated across the gap the three had created. The four managed to gain 20 seconds advantage and then at the foot of the final climb, Noemi Cantele attacked her fellow breakaways. The Italian timed her attack perfectly, leaving the three ‘standing’ as she created a gap, which she was able to build upon over the length of the climb to almost half a minute. She then maintained her advantage through to the finish, where she took the time to celebrate her victory in front of the huge crowds.

Nicole Cooke (Raleigh Lifeforce) won the hotly contested sprint for second place from Marta Bastianelli (Italy), third, and Oenone Wood (T-Mobile), who was fourth. The chasing three were 28 seconds behind the race winner. Giorgia Bronzini (Italy) won the main bunch sprint (44 seconds behind Cantele) to take fifth place from Monia Baccaille (Saccarelli Emu) and Marianne Vos (DSB Bank).

The relative positions in the World Cup are unchanged; Nicole Cooke (Raleigh Lifeforce) retains the lead, ahead of Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) and Oenone Wood (T-Mobile).

With just the final round remaining and with double points on offer for all placings, there are only two possible winners of the 2007 series. Only Marianne Vos can beat Nicole Cooke to the title, although she will have to win or come second in the final race and beat Cooke by at least two race positions. Anything less and Nicole Cooke will retain the World Cup title she won in 2006 and 2003.

Back to Top



Nicole Cooke : "The final break went away with three riders. I jumped out of the bunch and across to the break, going over the top of the first climb on the last lap. It was one of those 'do or die' moments and it proved vital.  I'm looking forward to Nürnberg now."

Back to Top


Results - Top 10   

Rank NAME / First Name Team Time / Gap
1 CANTELE Noemi BCT 03:14:00
2 COOKE Nicole RLT + 00:28
4 WOOD Oenone TMP  
5 BRONZINI Giorgia ITA + 00:44
7 VOS Marianne DSB  
8 BRODTKA Angela TGH  
10 TOUFFET Elodie MSG  

Back to Top


Standings - Top 10

Rank NAME / First Name Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 TOTAL
1 COOKE Nicole RLT 75 75 21 50 30 27 9 50 337
2 VOS Marianne DSB - 35 35 75 50 30 11 21 257
3 WOOD Oenone TMP 50 0 - 0 35 24 0 30 139
4 CANTELE Noemi BCT - 0 0 0 0 - 35 75 110
5 LUPERINI Fabiana MSG - 0 - 15 - 75 18   108
6 THÜRIG Karin RLT - 27 0 0 0 - 50   77
7 PUCINSKAITE Edita NUR 0 0 0 1 75 - -   76
8 ARNDT Judith TMP 0 0 0 35 0 35 6   76
9 WORRACK Trixi NUR 18 30 0 3 0 18 7   76
10 BELTMAN Chantal TMP - 0 0 0 0 0 75   75

Back to Top




Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 ©