Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Trust House Women’s Cycling Tour of New Zealand 2007


WCN quicklink >>   Stage 6    Stage 6 Full   Stage 5   Stage 5 Full     Stage 4    Stage 4 Full   Stage 3    Stage 3 Full    Stage 2   Stage 2 Full    Stage 1   Stage 1 Full

                             Startlist Announced for Tour    Australians send 2 teams across the Tasman    Sarah Ulmer & NZ team sign up    

                             Cheerwine on the way   T-Mobile to Wellington     Flexpoint confirm

Previous coverage of the Tour of New Zealand in Wellington  >>  2010   2009    2008    2007    2006    2005  


On this page >>  Australians send 2 top-level teams across the Tasman  



Australian National and Australian Institute of Sport Teams to compete

Wellington area, 7 - 11 March


12 Australians to ride in two teams

Australian National women's coach, Warren McDonald will be bringing two teams to the Tour of New Zealand. There will be an Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) team, which will travel to their European base in Varese (Italy) for their Northern Hemisphere racing campaign soon after the Wellington-based Tour is over. Whilst the Australian National Team will also be represented in what is easily the biggest and best Tour for women in New Zealand. 

McDonald says both teams are looking forward to their outing on the demanding Tour of New Zealand.

"The event is very well organised and it's a great course with some very tough stages, making it exciting for riders and spectators."

The Australian National team is made up of six very talented riders. Leading the charge is former Australian national champion and current Olympic road champion, Sara Carrigan; the current Oceania scratch race champion, Tiffany Cromwell; top road rider, 2004 Olympian and professional for the last five years, Olivia Gollan; and up and coming riders, Carla Ryan who won the 2007 national time trial championships in January, Vicki Whitelaw from the ACT and Louise Kerr from QLD.

As well as the Australian National team, McDonald is also bringing the Australian Institute of Sport team led by 2003 World Triathlon champion Nikki Egyed; Jenny MacPherson, who finish 5th in the Wellington World Cup; twice Australian national champion Lorian Graham, the 2004 World Junior Champion, Amanda Spratt, Candice Sullivan and Jocelyn Loane.

Race Director Jorge Sandoval is thrilled with the news.

"Having two top Australian teams here in New Zealand is great for the sport and for our event," he said.

"The Trust House 2007 Tour is already looking like being bigger and better than last year, and that's fantastic for everyone involved. The Australians are very competitive and always want to do well. They will be formidable opposition to the top Europeans teams as well as our own top New Zealand National team lead by Sarah Ulmer." Sandoval said.

The Trust House Women's Tour of New Zealand gets underway on Wednesday March 7, with a criterium around the Avalon. Lower Hutt circuit. On Thursday stage two takes the riders from Martinborough to Masterton, followed by mountain stages on Friday and Saturday. The tour heads to Wellington on Sunday for the fifth stage time trial around the Miramar Peninsula and the final stage a criterium at the bottom of Lambton Quay in Wellington.


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©