Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)



Thüringen Rundfarht 2007



WCN quicklink >>  Stage 1      Stage 1 Full       Stage 2     Stage 2 Full    Stage 3    Stage 3 Full     Stage 4    Stage 4 Full

                                Stage 5        Stage 6      Stage 7   Stage 7 Full

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up       Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 5

Schmölln, Time Trial 18.6km


Race Writeup

Amber Neben (Team Flexpoint) sprinted into the yellow jersey during the 18.6km time trial, 10 seconds ahead of Judith Arndt (T-Mobile). Noemi Cantele (Bigla Cycling) drops to third 2 minutes behind.  

The time trial from Schmölln was relatively flat, there was just the climb out of the town half way but was this didn’t trouble any of the riders. The fastest time didn’t come until towards the top 20 on general classification. Sara Carrigan (Australian National Team (AIS)) complete the course in a time of 28 minutes 41.523 seconds and held 1st place for 29 seconds before the Raleigh Lifeforce Creation team’s fastest time trailers finished. Christiane Soeder, Karin Thürig and Priska Doppmann all  finished faster with Amber Neben the only rider to upset the 1,2 3.

There was a dramatic incident in the time trial. Edita Puckinskaite (Équipe Nürnberger Versicherung) seemed to stall as she rolled off  the starting ramp, falling off half way down and landed hard, her bike frame split in two and she landed hard. Medics were on the scene quickly, but Puckinskaite was taken to hospital for checks on head, face and possible dental injuries. WomensCycling.net wishes Puckinskaite a speedy recovery.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 

Position Name Team Time Gap km/hr
1 Christiane Soeder, Raleigh Lifeforce Creation HB Cycling Team .28'12.171 39,57km/h
2 Karin Thürig, Raleigh Lifeforce Creation HB Cycling Team .28'24.417 12" 39,286km/h
3 Amber Neben, Team Flexpoint .28'30.930 18" 39,136km/h
4 Priska Doppmann, Raleigh Lifeforce Creation HB Cycling Team .28'35.897 23" 39,023km/h
5 Sara Carrigan, Australian National Team (AIS) .28'41.523 29" 38,895km/h
6 Susanne Ljungskog, Team Flexpoint .28'57.852 45" 38,53km/h
7 Charlotte Becker, Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung .29'06.897 54" 38,33km/h
8 Judith Arndt, T-Mobile .29'11.532 59" 38,229km/h
9 Trixi Worrack, Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung .29'12.232 1'00" 38,214km/h
10 Rie, Van An .29'24.617 1'12" 37,945km/h


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 

Position Name Team Time Gap
1 Amber Neben Team Flexpoint 11.19'23"
2 Judith Arndt T-Mobile 11.19'33" 10"
3 Noemi Cantele Bigla Cycling Team 11.21'23" 2'00"
4 Emma Pooley Team Specialised for Women 11.23'15" 3'52"
5 Susanne Ljungskog Team Flexpoint 11.26'14" 6'51"
6 Trixi Worrack Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung 11.26'26" 7'03"
7 Nicole Brändli Bigla Cycling Team 11.26'41" 7'18"
8 Andrea Graus Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung 11.27'17" 7'54"
9 Edwige Pitel Team Uniqa 11.27'29" 8'06"
10 Oenone Wood T-Mobile 11.27'58" 8'35"


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

CJ1_0506 CJ1_0579 CJ1_0609 CJ1_0766 CJ1_0828
CJ1_0877 CJ1_1192 CJ2_0520 CJ2_0522 CJ2_0527
CJ2_0542    CJ2_0598  

Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2007 ©