Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Prestige Women's Series 2007





WCN quicklink >> Preview    Redlands Review    Nature Valley Grand Prix Review

Series Website




On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Standings     Photos


Race 2

Nature Valley Grand Prix 

Race Writeup

Minnesota’s Nature Valley Grand Prix, which wrapped up last week, was the second round of the 2007 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series.  The most dramatic moments played out on the sprinters’ competition, while the individual, best young rider and team classifications remained firmly in the control of Webcor Builders.


The speedsters came into their own at Nature Valley, where Rebecca Larson (Aaron’s) and last year’s Series sprint winner Brooke Miller (TIBCO) battled it out for the Nature Valley GP’s Wheaties Sprint competition.  When the dust settled, Larson had claimed the Wheaties jersey, vaulting her from sixth in the Series standings to first, while Miller moved from fifth to second.  Kori Seehafer (TEAm Lipton) fell from first to a close third, followed by Laura Van Gilder (Team Cheerwine) and Martina Patella (ValueAct Capital).


There were no surprises in the other Series competitions.  Mara Abbott (Webcor Builders) kept the Series individual lead with an impressive second place finish at the Nature Valley GP, despite the win by TEAm Lipton’s Kristin Armstrong, who had missed the Series opener at Redlands with a knee injury.  Abbot continues to dominate among young riders, claiming the Boost Best Young Rider competition at Nature Valley and likely locking in her win for the Series for that classification.  And Webcor stretched their team lead, with a point total that is almost double that of second place TEAm Lipton.


The Women’s Prestige Cycling Series continues at the International Tour de ‘Toona (July 23 – 29) and then finishes at the CD&P Bermuda Grand Prix (September 20 – 23).


Back to Top


Post Race Comments

"Rebecca really stepped up to the challenge to go all out for the Wheaties Sprint Jersey and her teammates were by her side the entire week", said Aaron's Corporate Furnishings team director, Carmen D'Aluisio. "With the overall Sprint series competition being as close as it is the battle will be really exciting to watch."


The 2006 Nature Valley GP’s Cannon Falls Road Race was Brooke’s first big win, and it was great to see her repeat at that stage this year”, said TIBCO team manager Linda Jackson.  She’s within striking distance of the Series sprint lead and I’m expecting her to claim it at the Tour de ‘Toona later this month.

Back to Top



Standings After Nature Valley Grand Prix 



1 - 330 - Mara Abbott - Webcor Builders

2 - 231 - Felicia Gomez - Aaron's Pro Cycling Team

3 - 220 - Kristin Armstrong - TEAm Lipton

4 - 187 - Leigh Hobson - Team Cheerwine

5 - 143 - Katheryn Curi - Webcor Builders


Best Young Rider


1 - 440 - Mara Abbott - Webcor Builders

2 - 297 - Lauren Franges - TEAm Lipton

3 - 165 - Alex Wrubleski - Colavita-Sutter Home

4 - 132 - Laura Bowles - Advil/Chapstick

5 - 121 - Joelle Numainville - Team Expresscopy.com




1 - 308 - Rebecca Larson - Aaron's Pro Cycling Team

2 - 264 - Brooke Miller - Team TIBCO

3 - 245 - Kori Seehafer - TEAm Lipton

4 - 242 - Laura Van Gilder - Team Cheerwine

5 - 165 - Martina Patella - ValueAct Capital Cycling Team




1 - 1042 - Webcor Builders Cycling Team

2 - 545 - TEAm Lipton

3 - 364 - Colavita/Sutter Home pb Cooking Light

4 - 361 – Team Cheerwine

5 - 303 - Aaron's Pro Cycling Team


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

Women's Prestige Cycling Series leader Mara Abbott (Webcor Builders,

wearing the orange Series leader's jersey sponsored by Champion Systems)

duels with World Champion Kristin Armstrong at the Nature Valley Grand

Prix's Stillwater Criterium.

Mara Abbott (Webcor Builders) holds the orange leader's and white

best young rider's jerseys, sponsored by Champion Systems. Rebecca

Larson (Aarons) wears the red sprint leader's jersey.

Photo : Matt Moses - www.moses-images.com

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007©