Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


New Zealand Track Championships



WCN quicklink >>   Preview   Day 1    Day 2    Day 3    Day 4    Day 5




On this page >>  Sprint      Sprint Finals     Scratch      Junior Pursuit


Day 2


Sprint Rounds

Canterbury's Natasha Hansen set new national records in the Under 19 sprint qualifying rounds during the morning session on day 2. Natasha Hansen beat Elisabeth Williams' 8 year old record time of 12.524.

The elite sprint finalists were decided this morning with Fiona Carswell riding off against Jocelyn Rastrick (Canterbury) tonight for gold and silver while Juliet Earle and Donna Wynd (Auckland) will ride off for bronze.


Back to Top


Sprint Finals

The second night of the 2007 national track championships was highlighted by a series of dramatic sprint finals. Canterbury riders Fiona Carswell, Jocelyn Rastrick and Juliet Earle took out the top three places in the elite womens sprint final, with Earle in a rare dead heat with the fourth place getter Donna Wynd from Auckland in the second of the four finals that were required to determine the bronze medal position.

Topping of a great night for Canterbury sprinters, Natasha Hansen totally outclassed her competitors to take out the under 19 women's sprint title.


Under 19 Sprint

1 Natasha Hansen Canterbury
2 Jemma Dudley WCNI
3 Sequoia Cooper Southland

Elite Women

1 Fiona Carsell Canterbury
2 Jocelyn Rastrick Canterbury
3 Juliet Earle Canterbury


Back to Top



The last race of the day was the glamour event of the night - the women's 8000m scratch, was marred by an accident that saw Melissa Holt crash with three laps to go. A top class field of New Zealand's best female cyclists, with the exception of Ali Shanks who is in Spain training for the world champs, assembled. The lead changed throughout the race with defending champion Tammy Boyd making an early break

1  Fiona Carswell Canterbury
2  Elizabeth Williams Auckland
3  Jo Kiesanowski Canterbury


Back to Top


Under 17 Pursuit 

1 Sarah Gilkinson Auckland 2.41.944
2 Sarah Martin Auckland 2.42.213
3 Elizabeth Steel Canterbury 2.45.957

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007