Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Holland Ladies Tour 2007   (10th Edition)



WCN quicklink >>   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full      Stage 2     Stage 2 Full      Stage 3     Stage 3 Full      

                   Stage 4     Stage 4 Full      Stage 5     Stage 5 Full     Stage 6A    Stage 6A Full      Stage 6B    Stage 6B Full   

Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up     Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 5

Nijverdal - Nijverdal, 103.4km


Race Writeup

The race for Stage 5 was started by Mascha Pijnenborg (Het Snelle Wiel),who initially gained 10 seconds out on her own in front of the bunch. She was joined soon afterwards by Ludevine Henrion (DSB Bank) and Sandra Missbach (Getränke Hoffmann). The trio soon built up a 30 seconds gap on the bunch. By the 40km point, they had built their lead up to 50 seconds. Chantal Beltman (T-Mobile) joined the three, just before Pijnenborg dropped off the pace. A few minutes later, the break was back in the peloton.

An almost immediate counterattack was made by Andrea Bosman (DSB Bank), Trixi Worrack (Nürnberger) and Marianne Vos (DSB Bank). This attack was shortlived and didn't really gain any time on the bunch. However, it provided the impetus for a further attack, which included Judith Arndt (T-Mobile), Adrie Visser (DSB Bank), Mirjam Melchers van Poppel (Team Flexpoint), Trixi Worrack, Linda Villumsen (T-Mobile), Giorgia Bronzini (Italy), Sissy van Alebeek (Ton van Bemmelen). The break went back into the bunch after the mountains competition point, which was won by Linda Villumsen.

Although there were several other attempts to breakaway, nothing was allowed to gain any advantage. With 20 kilometres left to race, the bunch was complete. Then, a small group broke away just before the intermediate sprint point. They managed to stay away until the five kilometres to go point. Significantly, the race leader was not in this group, which was still hanging just off the front of the bunch with 10 seconds with 5 kilometres to ride. Emma Johansson (Vlaanderen Caprisonne) was in this group and presented a danger to the GC. The chase was definitely on; with 3 kilometres to the finish, the gap was just 7 seconds and by the time the race entered the final kilometre, it was clear that it was going to be a group sprint. The leaders managed to extend their gap to 16 seconds over the bunch on the line. 

The sprint was won by Martine Bras (Weijers-Hako (Barrhopoort)-(Lotto Belisol)), followed by Charlotte Becker (Équipe Nürnberger) and Emma Johansson (Vlaanderen Caprisonne). 

Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) retained the race lead, whilst Judith Arndt (T-Mobile) stays in second, just 4 seconds down. Emma Johansson (Vlaanderen Caprisonne) moved up from 6th to third, just 9 seconds behind Vos.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Surname Time Gap Bonus
1    Martine Bras 2.28'59"      10"  
2    Charlotte Becker 2.28'59"      8"  
3    Emma Johansson 2.28'59"      4"  
4    Andrea Bosman 2.28'59"      5"  
5    Judith Arndt 2.28'59"      1"  
6    Alessandra D'Ettorre 2.28'59"        
7    Regina Bruins 2.28'59"        
8    Loes Gunnewijk 2.28'59"        
9    Emma Rickards 2.28'59"        
10    Kristin Armstrong 2.28'59"        

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Surname Time Gap
1    Marianne Vos 12.53'08"     
2    Judith Arndt 12.53'12"   4"  
3    Emma Johansson 12.53'17"   9"  
4    Charlotte Becker 12.53'23"   15"  
5    Marta Bastianelli 12.53'33"   25"  
6    Glorgia Bronzini 12.53'34"   26"  
7    Suzanne Goede de 12.53'36"   28"  
8    Mirjam Melchers 12.53'39"   31"  
9    Anita Valen 12.53'40"   32"  
10    Emma Rickards 12.53'40"   32"  


Back to Top



Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

DS_IMG_019 DS_IMG_050 DS_IMG_119 DS_IMG_127 DS_IMG_138
DS_IMG_170 DS_IMG_172 DS_IMG_202 DS_IMG_204 DS_IMG_224
DS_IMG_229 DS_IMG_236 DS_IMG_237 DS_IMG_238 DS_IMG_246
DS_IMG_270b DS_IMG_284 DS_IMG_289 DS_IMG_301 DS_IMG_364


Back to Top




Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2007 ©