Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Giro Femminile 2007 - 18th edition


2007 coverage     2006 coverage


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue    Stage 1    Stage 2    Stage 3    Stage 4     Stage 5     Stage 6    Stage 7    Stage 8





On this page >>  Write-up        Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 5

Cittiglio - Cittiglio, 103,4km


Race Writeup

An early break by Alison Powers (Colavita) and Bettina Kuhn (Team Bigla) saw the pair just lead the bunch up the climb to Brinzi. They were caught before the descent and the beginning of the second lap of the same circuit.

At Brinzi the second time, Svetlana Bubnenkova (Fenixs) and Fabiana Luperini (Menikini Gysko) were on the attack. They were not able to make any sizeable gap on the bunch. 

The final 25km were run over new roads, including the long climb to Arcumeggia. With 3km to go to the summit, various attacks were made, including by Kim Anderson (T-Mobile), Naomi Cantele (Team Bigla), Marta Bastianelli (SAFI), Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) and Nicole Brδndli (Team Bigla).

It was Brδndli who managed to stay away, taking a solo victory on the slightly uphill finishing straight in Cittiglio. She rode next to the barriers as she approached the line, not bothering to waste energy with a victory salute, but saving seconds on the General Classification by powering all the way to the line. Marta Bastianelli was second, also solo and 46 seconds down on Brδndli.

The bunch sprint for third was won by Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) from Monia Baccaille (Saccarelli), Grete Treier (Michela Fanini) and Judith Arndt (T-Mobile).

Edita Puckinskaite retained the race lead, Linda Villumsen took over the young rider's competition lead and Marianne Vos retained the points lead. Svetlana Bubnenkova is in the mountains competition lead.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - 104,500 Km in 2h 50’ 59  >> 36,670 Km/h

1. Brδndli Nicole – Team Bigla

2. Bastianelli Marta – Safi Pasta Zara Manhattan – a 46”

3. Vos Marianne – Team DSB Bank – a 52”

4. Baccaille Monia – Saccarelli Emu Sea – s.t.

5. Treier Grete – Michela Fanini Record Rox – s.t.

6. Arndt Judith – T Mobile Women – s.t.

7. Bubnenkova Svetlana – Fenixs Hpb Edilsavino – s.t.

8. Martisova Julia – Team Frw Gauss Rdz – s.t.

9. Cantele Noemi – Team Bigla – s.t.

10. Ljungskog Susanne – Team Flexpoint – s.t.


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10

1. Pucinskaite Edita – Nurnberger Versicherung - 13h 49’ 05”

2. Brandli Nicole – Bigla Cycling Team – a 18”

3. Moreno Allue Maribel – Selection Nationale Espanola – a 28”

3. Luperini Fabiana – Menikini Selle Italia Gysko – a 52”

4. Ljungskog Susanne – Team Flexpoint – a 05”

6. Arndt Judith – T Mobile Women – a 28”

7. Villumsen Serup Linda – T Mobile Women – a 04”

8. Guderzo Tatiana – AA Drink Cycling Team – a 23”

9. Vos Marianne – Team DSB Bank – a 45”

10. Treier Grete – Michela Fanini Record Rox – a 06”


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


CJ1_8244 CJ1_8282 CJ1_8295 CJ1_8304 CJ1_8337
CJ1_8386 CJ1_8430 CJ1_8444 CJ2_6785 CJ2_6833
CJ2_6860 CJ2_6872 CJ2_6923  CJ2_6948
Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2007 ©