Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Giro Femminile 2007 - 18th edition


2007 coverage     2006 coverage


WCN quicklink >>    Prologue    Stage 1    Stage 2    Stage 3    Stage 4     Stage 5     Stage 6    Stage 7    Stage 8





On this page >>  Write-up       Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 2

Correggio - Correggio


Race Writeup

Edita Puckinskaite (Nürnberger) relinquished her hold on the lead of the Giro Donne on Stage 2. Arriving in the bunch was not good enough to be presented with the maglia rosa again in Correggio; Diane Zilute (SAFI) was second overall and with the time bonus awarded for the placing, took the overall lead.

Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) won the stage in a bunch sprint from Zilute and Oenone Wood (T-Mobile). It was a close thing, though. Penultimate lap breakaway, Julia Martissova (AS Team FRW) was not caught until the final kilometre, following a chase initiated by Zilute's SAFI team-mates.

Martissova provided the excitement for the stage, when it seemed that she might stay away for a solo victory. There were other notable breaks during the hot stage, though. Adrie Visser (DS Bank) livened things up early when she stayed away for a lap of the 13km course. Then, Maya Adamson Watt (Team Dilà Guerciotti Cogeas) tried her luck. Perhaps the longest attack of the day was by Elodie Touffet (Menikini Gysko), who survived for almost two laps on her own, before Naomi Cantele (Team Bigla) led the final 'catch', followed by the bunch, in a long line, at full speed.

The overall classification is still tight - with the top ten only separated by 10 seconds. The 10km uphill time trial (8% average) for Stage 3 should see some considerably larger gaps open up.

The race's official media release noted that 57 riders were tested under antidoping protocol this morning. All riders passed the testing procedures, with no anomalies.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 

125,700 Km average, 40,635 Km/h

1. Vos Marianne  Team DSB Bank  3 h 05m 36s
2. Ziliute Diana  Safi Pasta Zara Manhattan  s.t.
3. Wood Oenone  T Mobile   s.t.
4. Schleicher Regina  Nurnberger Versicherung  s.t.
5. Beltman Chantal  T Mobile Women  s.t.
6. Treier Grete  Sc Michela Fanini Record Rox  s.t.
7. Holler Monica  Team Bigla  s.t.
8. Villumsen Serup Linda  T Mobile  at 5s
9. Corazza Martina  Team Frw Gauss Rdz  s.t.
10. Belvederesi Tania  Team Frw Gauss Rdz  s.t.

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 

1. Ziliute Diana  Safi Pasta Zara Manhattan  7h 22m 59s
2. Beltman Chantal  T Mobile Women  at 6s
3. Wood Oenone  T Mobile Women  at 7s
4. Holler Monica  Team Bigla  at 8s
5. Treier Grete  Sc Michela Fanini Record Rox  at 8s
6. Pucinskaite Edita  Nurnberger Versicherung  at 9s
7. Thurig Karin  Raleigh Lifeforce Creation  at 10s
8. Kiesanowski Joanne - Raleigh Lifeforce Creation  at 10s
9. Schleicher Regina - Nurnberger Versicherung  at 10s
10. Ljungskog Susanne  Team Flexpoint  at 11s

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

CJ1_7428 CJ1_7434 CJ1_7441 CJ1_7442 CJ1_7463
CJ1_7486 CJ1_7498 CJ1_7502 CJ1_7523 CJ1_7528
CJ1_7560 CJ1_7561 CJ1_7564 CJ1_7571 CJ1_7583
CJ1_7589 CJ1_7611 CJ1_7625 CJ2_6345 CJ2_6373
CJ2_6395 CJ2_6401  CJ2_6410  


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004 - 2007 ©