Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


Australian Open Road Championships 2007



WCN quicklink >> Preview     Time Trial      Road Race

                             2006 coverage

Race Website


On this page >>  Write-up      Results     Photos



Time Trial

Buninyong, 28km


Race Writeup

Carla Ryan took the Australian Time Trial Championship in style. The 21 year old was not only awarded a gold medal for the under 23 competition, she also went faster than anyone else in the field, thereby taking the coveted Australian Champion's jersey and the senior gold medal too.

Ryan, riding in Queensland colours, but originally from Victoria, beat 2006 Champion, Kathy Watt by 10 seconds to take the title. She admitted that the pressure was on, she was riding the same bike as Sara Carrigan had taken to time trial silver in 2006 and which her team-mate, Hayden Josefski had taken the under 23 men's silver medal this morning. 

An emotional Ryan dedicated her win to Scott Peoples, who was tragically killed whilst training in mid-December. Both riders were originally from Shepparton in Victoria's north-east. "I looked up to him, as much as he was younger than me, but he was starting to do really well in the sport."

Carla Ryan has only been cycling competitively for a couple of years, her background is in long-distance running. She had hoped to finish in the top ten and was clearly overcome with her achievement “This is totally unexpected, but it feels awesome, I’m not sure whether its sunk in or not yet.”

2006 Champion, Kathy Watt was second in an impressive ride just ten seconds slower than Ryan. Bronze medallist, Toireasa Gallagher was the only other rider under 44 minutes on the 28km course. 

It was a hot and blustery day on a course with a long drag of a climb within the first kilometre.


Back to Top



Position Name State Time
1 Carla Ryan QLD 43:12.6
2 Kathryn Watt VIC 43:22.4
3 Toireasa Gallagher NSW 43:48.8
4 Vicki Whitelaw ACT 44:17.5
5 Amanda Spratt NSW 44:17.5
6 Bridie O'Donnell VIC 44:56.7
7 Kate Mercer QLD 46:06.2
8 Stephanie Frawley SA 46:11.4
9 Louise Kerr QLD 46:16.9
10 Nicole Whitburn VIC 46:21.5
11 Dana Faletic TAS 46:23.4
12 Helen Griffiths QLD 46:30.0
13 Marilyn Macdonald VIC 46:32.3
14 Kerry Knowler ACT 46:36.8
15 Joanne Bennett WA 47:00.5
16 Suzanne Alway VIC 47:08.8
17 Kate Nichols NSW 47:16.1
18 Tiffany Cromwell SA 47:21.5
19 Liz Young QLD 47:24.5
20 Freya Scollay NSW 47:30.6
21 Rachel Rademaker VIC 47:58.8
22 Sarah Roy NSW 48:40.9
23 Clare Vlahopoulos VIC 49:09.8
24 Judith May ACT 49:33.1
25 Rachel Rayner VIC 50:11.0
26 Peta Mullens VIC 50:21.2
27 Amy Schramm QLD 50:50.0
28 Simone Spykers VIC 50:53.1
29 Nina Buxton NSW 51:03.8
30 Lorraine Meinke VIC 52:49.3
31 Louise Nicholson VIC 53:04.8
Candice Sullivan QLD DNS


Back to Top

Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

IMG_1460 IMG_1463 IMG_1469 IMG_1474 IMG_1477
IMG_1482 IMG_1485 IMG_1489 IMG_1495 IMG_1506
IMG_1513 IMG_1520 IMG_1525 IMG_1529 IMG_1537
IMG_1539 IMG_1550 IMG_1554 IMG_1559 IMG_1561
IMG_1567 IMG_1568 IMG_1570 IMG_1571 IMG_1574
IMG_1583 IMG_1590 IMG_1598 IMG_1602 IMG_1603
IMG_1608 IMG_1609 IMG_1617 IMG_1621 IMG_1624
IMG_1625 IMG_1626 IMG_1628 IMG_1668 IMG_1704
IMG_1714 IMG_1720 IMG_1765 IMG_1787 IMG_1816
IMG_1825   IMG_1844    


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©